The preceptory of Arveyres

Source : www.patrimoine33.com - Isabelle Leparoux & Jean Renier

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

The preceptory of Arveyres
Diaporama at the bottom of the page
France, Gironde Department

France, Gironde department (33), around 25 km east of Bordeaux.

According to studies made by Baron de Marquessac and Jean-André Garde, the origins of the preceptory of Arveyres would date from 1170, when the archbishop of Bordeaux(1) gave to the Templars the church St Peter of Arveyres. Afterwards, the lord of Vayres(2) give them in 1231 the estate of Arveyres located in his chatellery.
As a consequence of these gifts, Templars decide to establish their house on a mound on the left bank of the Dordogne river, between the small harbors of Arveyres and Laroque.

Lords of Vayres made an agreement by which the Templars kept the jurisdiction of Arveyres, received transfer of the wood of Tillhède as well as the power to load their goods without paying taxes to the two neighbouring harbours.
As a result of this agreement reached in 1264, four crosses are planted Arveyres to delimit the jurisdiction of the Commander.

No doubt, the strategic importance of the location led Templars to build a preceptory on this estate. Indeed, this one is located on the opening of the road from Périgueux to Bordeaux and to Spain, close to a crossing point on the Dordogne River.

The preceptory of Arveyres has had as vocation to establish a property demesne able to gather income to finance expeditions in The Holy Lands. The real and property estates of the preceptory were many and shared among several parishes, but were also complemented by income linked to justice privileges located in a "Sauveté"(3) delimited by the four crosses driven in around the preceptory. All this property confered the preceptory of Arveyres a predominant place among all the preceptories in the Bordeaux area.

These four crosses, made of stone or of wood, were many times restored or replaced. The cross of Fonsegrède, completely in stone, is the last cross which delimited the Templar estate. It is located near the church of Notre-Dame-d'Arveyres.
The Cross of Siston is located on a crossroads, at the place named Siston, in front of the presbytery, probably rebuilt during the 17th century, which still shows a turret and a stone window decorated with stained glass. The pedestal of this cross consists of a step suporting a first block, then a second one more massive itself supporting the wrought iron cross.
The cross of Barre, also of wrought iron, is located on a small mound along the road from Vayres to Arveyres. Its base is made of a big squared stone without decorations upon witch rests a second stone decorated with moldings and a guarland of roses.
The cross of Royne was located on the shelf at the place named Royne. The cross and its base were completely in stone. At this moment, this cross has completely disapeared.

The preceptory originally owned several buildings including one two-storey flanked by a tower and outbuildings. Today, the main buiding , which dates probably from the end of the 15th or the beginning of the 16th century, shelters the remains of a fireplace which shows the escutcheon of the Order of Malta. At this moment, only ruins remains of the tower and some outbuildings including a kitchen with its fireplace and an oven opening.

The archaeologist Jean-Luc Piat mentionned in 2002: "Several clues and structures from the Gallo-Roman period have been found in a great majority of surveys, and these findings unpublished to date, mark all the arcaeological value of the site of the preceptory. Moreover, the presence of a grave under a lid with edged tiles is reminescent of a gallo-roman or early-christian necropolis in nearby these ancient buildings."
Today, the town hall of Arveyres has bought the property off in order to revive this wonderful site, neglected by the inhabitants of Arveyres.

Due to the damage to the buidings and the use of the site as illegal dumping ground, an association was created by some inhabitants of Arveyres in order to stop these damages and to reassert the true value the site. The differents aims of this association "Pour la Commanderie d'Arveyres", are to restore, or even renovate the buildings, to use them in an educational context and if possible to organise activities.
The contact details of this association are avalaible following this link (in french) : www.patrimoine33.com

Notes :

(1)Bertrand de Montault, archbishop of Bordeaux from 1162 to 1173.

(2)Vayres is located just beside Arveyres.

(3)In France in the Middle Ages, a "Sauveté" was a refuge zone delimited around a church or a chapel by several boundary markers. Inside this area, it was forbidden to pursue fugitives. More often, these "Sauvetés" were located in south and south-west of France.

    


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Le patrimoine des communes de la Gironde"
    Editions Flohic, 2001
  2. "Catalogue des archives de la Commanderie, fonds du Prieuré de Toulouse"
    Jean Luc Piat, 2003

More references on the Web... Web sources
  1. "www.patrimoine33.com"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La Commanderie d'Arveyres

Source : www.patrimoine33.com - Isabelle Leparoux & Jean Renier

La commanderie d'Arveyres
Diaporama en bas de page
France, département de la Gironde

France, département de la Gironde (33), à environ 25 km à l'est de Bordeaux.

D'après les études du Baron de Marquessac et de Jean-André Garde, les origines de la Commanderie d'Arveyres dateraient de 1170, lorsque l'archevêque de Bordeaux(1) donne à l'Ordre du Temple l'église Saint-Pierre d'Arveyres. Par la suite, le seigneur de Vayres(2) leur céde en l'an 1231 le territoire d'Arveyres situé dans sa châtellerie.
Suite à ces dons, les Templiers décident d'établir leur maison sur une butte sur la rive gauche de la Dordogne, entre le port d'Arveyres et celui de Laroque.

Les seigneurs de Vayres passent également un accord par lequel les Templiers conservent la juridiction d'Arveyres, obtiennent la cession du Bois de Tillhède ainsi que la faculté de faire embarquer leurs denrées sans payer de droits dans les deux ports voisins.
C'est à la suite de cet accord, intervenu en 1264, que sont plantées les quatre croix d'Arveyres qui délimitent la juridiction du Commandeur.

C'est sans doute l'importance stratégique du site qui a décidé les Templiers à faire une commanderie de ce domaine. En effet, celui-ci est situé au débouché de la voie de Périgueux vers Bordeaux et vers l'Espagne, à proximité d'un point de franchissement de la Dordogne.

La Commanderie d'Arveyres a eu pour vocation d'asseoir une seigneurie foncière susceptible de rassembler des revenus pour le financement des expéditions en Terre Sainte. Les propriétés foncières et immobilières de la commanderie étaient nombreuses et réparties sur plusieurs paroisses, mais étaient aussi complétées par des revenus liés à des privilèges de justice établis dans une "Sauveté"(3) limitée par les quatre croix plantées autour de la Commanderie. L'ensemble de ce patrimoine conférait à la Commanderie d'Arveyres une place de premier plan dans les commanderies militaires du bordelais.

Ces quatre croix, faites de bois ou de pierre, ont été plusieurs fois restaurées ou remplacées. La croix de Fonsegrède, entièrement en pierre, est la dernière croix qui délimite le domaine des Templiers, sorte de quadrilatère qui représente l'espace où s'exerce la seigneurie de l'Ordre. Elle est située près de l'église Notre-Dame-d'Arveyres.
La croix de Siston est implantée à un carrefour, au lieu-dit Siston, juste en face la cure, probablement un presbytère du 17e siècle qui conserve une tourelle et une fenêtre en pierre ornée de vitraux. Le piédestal de cette croix est formé d'une marche sur laquelle est posé un premier bloc de pierre, puis un second bloc plus massif, qui supporte la croix en fer forgé.
La croix de Barre, elle aussi en fer forgé, est située sur une petite butte au bord de la route reliant Vayres à Arveyres. Son soubassement est constitué par une grosse pierre carrée unie, sans ornements, sur laquelle est encastrée une seconde pierre ornée de moulures et d'une guirlande de roses.
La croix de Royne se situait sur le plateau au lieu dit Royne; la croix et son soubassement sont entièrement en pierre. A l'heure actuelle cette croix a disparu.

La Commanderie possédait à l'origine plusieurs bâtiments, dont une grande pièce à un étage flanquée d'une tour et de dépendances. Aujourd'hui le bâtiment principal, qui date probablement de la fin du 15e siècle ou du début du 16e, abrite les restes d'une cheminée qui porte l'écusson de l'Ordre de Malte. Actuellement, il ne reste que les ruines de la tour et de quelques dépendances, dont une cuisine avec sa cheminée et la bouche d'un four.

L'archéologue Jean-Luc Piat note en 2002: "Plusieurs indices et structures gallo-romaine ont été découverts dans un grand nombre de sondages et ces découvertes jusqu'alors inédites marquent tout l'intêret archéologique du site de la Commanderie. Par ailleurs la présence d'une sépulture sous le couvercle de tuiles à rebord n'est pas sans évoquer la possible existence d'une nécropole gallo-romaine ou paléochrétienne aux abords de ces construction antiques."
Aujourd'hui la mairie d'Arveyres a racheté la propriété afin de redonner vie à ce magnifique site, délaissé par les habitants d'Arveyres.

Suite à la dégradation des bâtiments et à l'utilisation du site en déchèterie illégale, une association a été créée par des habitants d'Arveyres afin de stopper ces dégâts et de revaloriser le site à sa juste valeur. Les différents buts de cette association "Pour la Commanderie d'Arveyres", sont de restaurer, voire rénover les bâtiments, de les utiliser dans un but éducatif et si possible de mettre en place des animations.
Les coordonnées de cette association sont disponibles en suivant ce lien : www.patrimoine33.com

Notes :

(1)Bertrand de Montault, archevêque de Bordeaux de 1162 à 1173.

(2)Vayres est situé juste à côté d'Arveyres.

(3)Au Moyen-Âge en France, une "Sauveté" était une zone refuge délimitée autour d'une église ou une chapelle par plusieurs "bornes frontières". Dans cette zone, la poursuite des fugitifs était interdite. Le plus souvent, ces "Sauvetés" se trouvent dans le sud et sud-ouest de la France.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Le patrimoine des communes de la Gironde"
    Editions Flohic, 2001
  2. "Catalogue des archives de la Commanderie, fonds du Prieuré de Toulouse"
    Jean Luc Piat, 2003
Plus de ressources sur le Web... Sources sur Internet
  1. "www.patrimoine33.com"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017