The Fortress of Baghras (Gaston or Gastein)

Original text by Maxime GOEPP and Benjamin SAINTAMON
avalaible on www.orient-latin.com

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

La Forteresse de Baghras (Gaston ou Gastein)
Diaporama at the bottom of the page
Turquie, Province of Hatay (Antioch)

Turkey, province of Hatay, around 60 km north of Hatay (Antioch).

Controlling in the south the approach of the Belen pass(1), this fortress was, at the time of the Crusades, of primordial importance for the defence of the Principality of Antioch.

Known then as Gaston or Gastin - from the greco-Roman name Castron; today Baghras -, it passed under Frankish control in the years 1150, where the circumstances of its capture are not precisely known.

It turns out that in 1154, Brothers of the Temple held garrison there, as various chronicles report how a contingent of Templars of Gaston surprised and destroyed the body of the army launched by the Sultan Mas'ûd(2) in the gorge of La Portelle(3).

About 1170, the castle was taken from the Templars by the Armenian adventurer Mleh(4), renegade of the Order, passed to the pay of Nur Al-Din(5).

At his death in 1175, his former "brothers" reoccupied their citadel. Thirteen years later, on September 26th 1188, the sultan Saladin(6) seized the fortress, before dismantling it at the alarming announcement of the imminent arrival of the armies of Frederic Barberousse.

It was the knight Foulques de Bouillon(7) who recovered the citadel on account of his cousin, Levon II of Armenia. The latter settled there in 1191 and performed important restaurations.

In spite of ceaseless claims of the Templars and repeated interventions of the Pope, the Armenian sovereign agreed to return Gaston to his rightful owners only in 1216, when it was deemed hardly defensible from the armies of the Baïbars(8) which had just crushed Antioch, thus preferring to give up it after setting it on fire(9).

The citadel stands upon a rocky peak with sheer faces, especially to the west, so that defenses were rather established on the other faces.
On the east side, through which it was accessed, are two enclosures dominated by an imposing rectangular keep, all built as small compound.
In the court, are the grand hall, with remains of the fortress chapel still well preserved. Between the chapel and the grand hall, one will notice the underground rooms supported by enormous pillars. These rooms added to the numerous main buildings throughout the site, leads one to conclude that the place could maintain an important garrison.
Note also to the south west of the site the presence of a partly preserved aqueduct, which connected the fortress to the mountain where several springs emerged. At the foot of the fortress, lies a small but famous spring known as the Fountain of Gastin...

Notes :

(1)The Belen pass was also known as the "Syrian Gates".

(2)Rukn ad-Din Mas'ud ben Qilij Arslân, or Mas`ûd 1st is a Sultan of Rûm of the Seljuk dynasty. He is born at the end of the 11th century. He is the third son of Sultan Qilij Arslan 1st. He succeeded his brother Malik Shah 1st in 1116. He died in 1156 and was buried in Iconium (Konya).

(3)Also called "Pas de la Portelle". That pass is located near the city of Payas (Turkey), around 30 km north of Baghras.

(4)Mleh was one of the sons of Léon (or Levon) Ist, sovereign of Armenian Cilicia. He was probably born around 1115-1120 and was killed in 1175. A rumor mentions him as Brother of the Temple after 1164, but he deserted soon to ally with Nur ad-Din, Emir of Aleppo and Damascus.

(5)Nur ad-Din Mahmud el Malik al Adil, Nur al-Din or Nureddin was Emir of Aleppo and Damascus. He was born around 1115 - 1117 and died in 1174. He was the second child of Imad ad-Din Zengi, the founder of the Zengid dynasty. Nur ad-Din became emir of Aleppo in 1146 on the death of his father. He fought constantly the Franks, especially in the territory of the County of Edessa.
During the Second Crusade, it is the announcement of the arrival of his army which forced the Crusaders to abandon the siege of Damascus.
His desire was to continue the project of his father, the unification of Muslim territories from Egypt, Syria and the Black Sea. His political maneuvers and shows of force made him the master of Damascus in 1154.
During the following decade, there were only gains and losses against the Christian armies. Regarding Egypt, he must contend with the armies of the king of Jerusalem Amaury 1st and local power. He will first send Shirkuh to try to take control of Cairo before Saladin seized the power. He died of fever in 1174.

(6)Saladin or Salah ad-Din Yusuf is the founder of the Ayyubid dynasty. He was born in Tikrit (now in Iraq) in 1138 and died in Damascus on March 4th 1193. He ruled over Egypt (1171) and Syria (1174) until his death in 1193. He was the son of Najm ad-Din Ayyub (Al-Malik al-Afdal Najm ad-Din Ayyub ibn Shadhi ibn Marawan), a Kurdish officer at the service of the emirs of Zengid dynasty.
In 1167, he accompanied his uncle Shirkuh in Egypt, at the request of the Emir Nur al-Din. In 1169, he was recognized as right-hand man of Al Hadid, the Fatimid caliph of Cairo, and in 1171, at the death of the latter, he seized the power and ascended the throne of Egypt. At the death of Nur al-Din in 1174, he went to Damascus where he was welcomed with triumph. However, he had to fight the governors who remained faithful to Zengid dynasty. In 1183, he managed also to take control of Aleppo. During his reign, Saladin will also fight Franks on numerous occasions, first under the reign of Amaury 1st, then under that of Baldwin IV and finally that of Guy de Lusignan. He won a major victory at the Battle of Hattin in 1187, before taking control of Jerusalem and face the armies of the 3rd Crusade, leaded by Philip II "Auguste" and Richard the Lionheart. In July 1191, he cannot prevent the Crusaders from seizing Saint-Jean d'Acre. In September 1191, he also suffered a defeat at the Battle of Arsuf. In 1192, he signed a peace treaty with Richard the Lionheart. He died at the beginning of March 1193 in Damascus.

(7)We know only little about this knight. The only thing we know is that he was related to the family of Levon II, King of Armenian Cilicia. He was maybe among the relatives of the first wife of the latter, Isabelle, herself niece of Sybille, third wife of Bohémond III of Antioch.

(8)Al-Malik az-Zahir Rukn al-Din Baybars al-Bunduqdari, better known under the name of Baïbars or Baybars. He was born on July 19th, 1223 north of the Black Sea in the territory of Kipchak (probably in present Crimea) and died on 1st July 1277 in Damascus. He was a Mamluk sultan of Egypt of the Bahri dynasty who reigned from 1260 to 1277.
Around 1240, he was sold as a slave and sent to Egypt. He was integrated in the Mamluk militia and entered the service of Ayyubid Sultan Salih Ayyub as bodyguard. In 1250, he actively participated in the overthrow of the Ayyubid dynasty in Cairo.
In 1260, he won an important victory against the Mongols at Ain Djalout. Back in Cairo, he overthrew the Sultan Sayf ad-Din Qutuz and proclaimed himself sultan.
Thereafter, his main objective was the destruction of the remnants of Crusader states. He captured Caesarea on 27th February 1261. In the following years, he managed to capture several important fortresses: Safed (25th July 1266), Jaffa (7th March 1268), Antioch (18th May 1268) and finally the "stunning" Krak des Chevaliers on February 8th, 1271.
He died possibly poisoned in Damascus in 1277.

(9)See that article about the surrender Baghras.

    


More on the Web... Sources on Internet
  1. "Forteresses d'Orient - www.orient-latin.com"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La Forteresse de Baghras (Gaston ou Gastein)

Article original rédigé par Maxime GOEPP et Benjamin SAINTAMON
source disponible sur www.orient-latin.com

La Forteresse de Baghras (Gaston ou Gastein)
Diaporama en bas de page
Turquie, Province de Hatay

Turquie, province de Hatay, à environ 60 km au nord de Hatay (Antioche)

Contrôlant au sud l'accès au col de Belen(1), cette forteresse était, à l'époque des Croisades, d'une importance primordiale pour la défense de la Principauté d'Antioche.

Connue alors sous le nom de Gaston ou Gastin - venant du greco-romain Castron ; aujourd'hui Baghras -, elle passa sous contrôle franc dans les années 1150, sans que l'on sache précisément les circonstances de sa prise.

Ce qui est avéré, c'est qu'en 1154, les frères du Temple y tenaient garnison, puisque certaines chroniques relatent comment un contingent de Templiers de Gaston surprit et anéantit le corps de troupe lancé par le Sultan Mas'ûd(2) dans le défilé de la Portelle(3).

Vers 1170, le château fut enlevé aux Templiers par l'aventurier arménien Mleh(4), renégat de l'Ordre, passé à la solde de Nur al-Din(5).

A sa mort, en 1175, ses anciens "frères" réinvestirent leur citadelle. Treize ans plus tard, le 26 septembre 1188, le sultan Saladin(6) s'en empara, avant de la démanteler à l'annonce effrayante de l'arrivée prochaine des contingents de Frédéric Barberousse.

Ce fut le chevalier Foulques de Bouillon(7) qui reprit possession de la citadelle pour le compte de son cousin, Levon II d'Arménie. Ce dernier s'y établit en 1191 et y opéra d'importants travaux de remise en état.

Malgré les incessantes réclamations des Templiers et les interventions répétées du Pape, le souverain arménien ne consenti à rendre Gaston à ses propriétaires légitimes qu'en 1216, lesquels ne jugèrent guère bon de la défendre face aux armées de Baïbars(8) qui venaient d'écraser Antioche, et préférèrent l'abandonner après y avoir mis de feu(9).

La citadelle se dresse sur un piton rocheux aux flancs escarpés, plus particulièrement sur le coté ouest, si bien que les défenses ont été surtout établies sur les autres fronts.
Du coté oriental, par lequel se faisait l'accès, se trouvent deux enceintes dominées par un imposant donjon rectangulaire, le tout construit en petit appareil.
Dans la cour, se trouvent la grand' salle, et les vestiges de la chapelle castrale, encore bien conservés.
Entre la chapelle et la grand' salle, on remarquera la présence de chambres souterraines, soutenues par d'énormes piliers. Ces chambres additionnées aux nombreux corps de logements sur le reste du site, permettent de conclure que la place pouvait entretenir une importante garnison.
A noter également au sud ouest du site la présence d'un aqueduc en partie conservé, qui reliait la forteresse à la montagne où jaillissaient plusieurs sources. Au pied de la forteresse, sourd une petite mais fameuse source connue sous le nom de fontaine de Gastin...

Notes :

(1)Le Col de Belen est aussi connu sous le nom de "Pyles Syriennes".

(2)Rukn ad-Dîn Mas`ûd ben Qilij Arslân, ou Mas`ûd 1er est un sultan de Roum de la dynastie des Seldjoukides. Il est né à la fin du 11e siècle. Il est le troisième fils du sultan Qilij Arslan 1er. Il succède à son frère Malik Shah 1er en 1116. Il meurt en 1156 et est inhumé à Iconium (Konya).

(3)Aussi appelé "Pas de la Portelle". Ce col est situé près de la ville actuelle de Payas (Turquie), à environ 30 km au nord de Baghras.

(4)Mleh est l'un des fils de Léon (ou Levon) 1er, souverain d'Arménie Cilicienne. Il est probablement né vers 1115 - 1120 et mort assassiné en 1175. Une rumeur le mentionne comme Frère du Temple après 1164, qu'il déserte très vite pour s'allier à Nur ad-Din, Emir d'Alep et de Damas

(5)Nour ad-Din Mahmûd el Mâlik al Adil, Nur al-Din ou Nûreddîn est émir d'Alep et de Damas. Il est né vers 1115 - 1117 et mort en 1174. Il est est le deuxième enfant de Imad ad-Din Zengi, le fondateur de la dynastie des Zengides. Nur ad-Din devient émir d'Alep en 1146 à la mort de son père. Il combat sans cesse les francs, surtout dans le territoire du Comté d'Edesse.
Lors de la Deuxième Croisade, c'est l'annonce de l'arrivée de son armée qui oblige les Croisés à abandonner le siège de Damas.
Son désir est de poursuivre le projet de son père, l'unification des territoires musulmans entre Egypte, Syrie et Mer Noire. Ses manœuvres politiques et ses démonstrations de force le rendent maître de Damas en 1154.
Pendant la décennie qui suit, ce ne sont que victoires et défaites contre les armées chrétiennes. En ce qui concerne l'Egypte, il doit composer avec les armées du roi de Jérusalem Amaury 1er et avec le pouvoir local. Il enverra d'abord Shirkuh pour tenter de prendre le contrôle du Caire, avant que Saladin ne s'empare du pouvoir.
IL meurt de la fièvre en 1174.

(6)Saladin ou Salah ad-Din Yusuf est le fondateur de la dynastie Ayyoubide. Il est né à Tikrit (actuellement en Irak) en 1138 et mort à Damas le 4 mars 1193. Il a régné sur l'Égypte (1171) et sur la Syrie (1174) à sa mort en 1193. Il est le fils de Najm ad-Din Ayyub (Al-Malik al-Afdal Najm ad-Din Ayyub ibn Shadhi ibn Marawan), un officier kurde au service des émirs de la dynastie des Zengides.
En 1167, il accompagne son oncle Shirkuh en Egypte, à la demande de l'émir Nur al-Din. En 1169, il se fait reconnaître comme homme de confiance d'Al Hadid, le calife Fatimide du Caire, et en 1171, à la mort de ce dernier, il s'empare du pouvoir et monte sur le trône d'Egypte. A la mort de Nur al-Din en 1174, il se rend à Damas où il est accueilli en triomphateur. Il doit cependant combattre les gouverneurs restés fidèles aux Zengides. En 1183, il parviendra à prendre aussi le contrôle d'Alep. Au cours de son règne, Saladin devra aussi combattre les francs à de nombreuses reprises, d'abord sous le règne d'Amaury 1er, ensuite sous celui de Baudouin IV et enfin celui de Guy de Lusignan. Il remportera une importante victoire lors de la bataille des Cornes de Hâttin en 1187, avant de s'emparer de Jérusalem et d'affronter les armées de la 3e Croisade, commandés par Philippe II "Auguste" et Richard Ier "Coeur de Lion". En juillet 1191, il ne peut empêcher les Croisés de s'emparer de Saint-Jean d'Acre. En septembre 1191, il subit aussi une défaite lors de la bataille d'Arsouf. En 1192, il signera un traité de paix avec Richard Ier "Coeur de Lion". Il meurt au début du mois de mars 1193 à Damas.

(7)On ne connaît que peu de choses à propos de ce chevalier. La seule chose qu'on sache est qu'il était lié à la famille du Roi d'Arménie Levon II. Il est possible qu'il fasse partie de la parentèle de la première femme de ce dernier, une certaine Isabelle, elle-même nièce de Sybille, troisième femme de Bohémond III d'Antioche.

(8)Al-Malik az-Zâhir Rukn ad-Dîn Baybars al-Bunduqdari, plus connu sous le nom de Baybars ou Baïbars. Il est né le 19 juillet 1223 au nord de la Mer Noire dans le territoire du Kiptchak (sans doute dans l'actuelle Crimée) et décédé le 1er juillet 1277 à Damas. Il est un sultan mamelouk d'Égypte de la dynastie des bahrite qui régna de 1260 à 1277.
Vers 1240, il est vendu comme esclave et envoyé en Egypte. Il est intégré dans la milice mamelouke et entre au service du sultan Ayyoubide As-Sâlih Ayyûb comme garde du corps. En 1250, il participe activement au renversement de la dynastie Ayyoubide du Caire.
En 1260, il remporte une importante victoire contre les Mongols à Aïn Djalout. De retour au Caire, il renverse le sultan Sayf ad-Dîn Qutuz,et se proclame sultan.
Par la suite , son objectif principal est la destruction de de qui reste des États croisés. Il s'empare de Césarée le 27 février 1261. Au cours des années suivantes, il parvient à s'emparer de plusieurs forteresses importantes : Safed (25 juillet 1266), Jaffa (7 mars 1268), Antioche (18 mai 1268) et enfin de "l'imprenable" krak des Chevaliers le 8 février 1271. Il meurt peut-être empoisonné, à Damas en 1277.

(9)Voir cet article sur la reddition du château de Baghras.

    


Plus de ressources sur le Web... Sources sur Internet
  1. "Forteresses d'Orient - www.orient-latin.com"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017