The preceptory of Balsall

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

Great Britain, England, West Midlands

Great Britain, England, West Midlands, Warwickshire, around 20 km south-east of Birmingham.

Le Temple de Balsall - Source : wikimedia commons
Le Temple de Balsall
Source : Wikimédia commons

The templar house of Balsall was given to the Order during the reign of King Stephen, by a certain Roger of Mowbray(1).
Several others donations are made to the Order, including a manor in Sherborne, lands in Tysoe and elsewhere else in the region.

Henry II makes the donation to the Order of the hermitage of Fletchamstead as well as the canton of Keele in Staffordshire. The necessity of managing all these estates lead the Order to found a preceptory in Balsall.

We don't know exactly the date of the foundation of the preceptory in Balsall, but there is in the archives a document dated from 1248 granting some privileges to the Templars for their estate in Balsall. In 1268, an other charter allows the Templars of Balsall to establish a weekly market on Tuesdays as well as two fairs of three days each annually on the days of St Gregoire & St Matthew.

In 1308, at the time of the arrest of the Templars in England and the following inquiry, it appeared that among the Brothers arrested, 8 of them were initiated into the Order in Balsall. Among them, was John de Coningeston who was admitted in the Order for about 36 years earlier. Right after him, by seniority order, we find John de Stoke, a brother chaplain, admitted in Balsall 17 years earlier. This last one was one of the rare Templars to testify against the Order, asserting that he have been invited to deny The Christ at only one occasion.

In 1308, it would appear that the preceptor of Balsall was a certain Thomas de Walkington. The exact number of Brothers arrested in Balsall in unknown, but we find several Templars of Balsall mentionned in documents as beneficiaries of various allowances and pensions.

Notes :

(1) Born around 1118, deceased in 1188. He was one of the most powerful barons of England. In 1138, he participated the Battle of the Standard. In 1141, during the succession wars in England, he remained faithful to King Stephen. He participated the Second Crusade beside Louis VII, the King of France. It seems that he also participated in an expedition in the Holy Lands leaded by Thierry d'Alsace in 1177. He was once again in the Holy Lands in 1186, he participated in the Battle of Hattin where he was one of the rare christian captured. It seems that Templars had paid for his freedom.


More references... Bibliography
  1. "The Victoria history of the counties of England : A History of the County of Essex, Volume 2"
    William Page; Editions A. Constable 1907

More references on the Web... Internet sources
  1. "British History Online"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La Commanderie de Balsall

Pas de galerie photo disponible

Grande Bretagne, West Midlands

Grande-Bretagne, Angleterre, région de West Midlands, dans le Warwickshire, à environ 20 km au sud-est de Birmingham.

Le Temple de Balsall - Source : wikimedia commons
Le Temple de Balsall
Source : Wikimédia commons

La maison du temple de Balsall a été donnée à l'Ordre au cours du règne du roi Etienne Ier, par un certain Roger de Mowbray(1).
Plusieurs autres dons sont faits à l'Ordre, incluant un manoir à Sherborne, des terres à Tysoe et ailleurs dans la région.

Henry II leur fait don de l'ermitage de Fletchamstead ainsi que du canton de Keele dans le Staffordshire. La nécessite de pouvoir gérer l'ensemble de ces biens, amène l'Ordre du Temple à fonder une commanderie à Balsall.

On ne connait pas la date exacte de fondation de la commanderie, mais il existe dans les archives, un document daté de 1248 octroyant des privilèges aux Templiers pour leur domaine de Balsall. En 1268, une autre charte autorise les Templiers de Balsall a établir un marché hebdomadaire le mardi ainsi que deux foires de 3 jours chacune lors des fêtes de St. Gregoire et St. Matthieu.

En 1308, lors de l'arrestation des Templiers en Angleterre et de l'enquête qui s'en est suivie, il est apparu que parmi les frères arrêtés, 8 avaient été reçus à Balsall. Parmi ces frères, se trouvait John de Coningeston qui avait été admis dans l'Ordre quelques 36 ans plus tôt. Juste après lui, par ordre d'ancienneté, on retrouve John de Stoke, un frère chapelain, admis à Balsall 17 ans plus tôt. Ce dernier a été l'un des rares à témoigner contre l'Ordre, affirmant avoir été convié à renier le Christ à une seule occasion.

En 1308, il semblerait que le commandeur de Balsall soit un certain Thomas de Walkington. Le nombre exact de frères arrêtés à Balsall est inconnu, mais on retrouve plusieurs Templiers de Balsall dans des documents comme bénéficiaires de rentes et de pensions diverses.

Notes :

(1)Né vers 1118, mort en 1188. Il fait partie des plus puissants barons d'Angleterres. En 1138, il participe à la bataille de l'Etendard (Battle of the Standard). En 1141, lors des guerres de successions en Angleterre, il reste fidèle au roi Etienne Ier. Il participe à la Deuxième Croisade aux côtés du roi de France Louis VII. Il semble qu'il ait aussi participé à l'expédition en Terre Sainte commandée par Thierry d'Alsace en 1177. Il est à nouveau en Terre Sainte en 1186, il participe à la bataille de Hattin où il fait partie des rares chrétiens capturés. Les Templiers semblent avoir acheté sa liberté.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "The Victoria history of the counties of England : A History of the County of Essex, Volume 2"
    William Page; Editions A. Constable 1907
Plus de ressources sur le Web... Sources sur Internet
  1. "British History Online"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017