The preceptory of Baudelu

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

France, département de Seine-et-Marne

France, department of Seine-et-Marne (77), around 10 km west of Fontainebleau, commune of Arbonne-la-Forêt.

Baudelu sur la carte de Cassini - David Rumsey
Baudelu
Source : www.cartocassini.org

No document has reached us about the origin of this house, nor about the occupation of the place by the Knights Templar, the domain having been destroyed and burnt down in 1385, during the fighting of the Hundred Years War.

The estate was located on the edge of the parish of Arbonne, at the place called Baudelu, on the left bank of the small river that crosses the parish. The estate consisted of 100 arpents of arable land, 60 arpents of forest and 200 arpents(1) of heath. The house of Baudelu also possessed a mill on the river Ecolle, in the parish of Courances, around 5 km from Baudelu. This mill will be destroyed at the end of the 15th century.

At the beginning of the 17th century, Baudelu's estate was in such a bad state, practically in ruins and uninhabited, that the commander of the Saussay yielded it to the knight Henri Clausse(2), making him responsible for the divine office celebrated in the chapel and for paying an annual annuity to the Order.

Notes :

(1)Depending on the region, one arpent was more or less 50 ares.

(2)Henri Clausse, knight, lord of Fleury-en-Bière, ordinary gentleman of the chamber of the King, Grand Master of the Forestry Commission of France. He was the godson of the King of France Henry II. He was the son of Cosme Clausse, lord of Marchaumont and Marie Burgensis. He married in 1568 with Denise de Neufville-Villeroy.


More references...Bibliography
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2019

La maison de Baudelu

Pas de galerie photo disponible

France, département de Seine-et-Marne

France, département de Seine-et-Marne (77), à environ 10 km à l'ouest de Fontainebleau, commune d'Arbonne-la-Forêt.

Baudelu sur la carte de Cassini - David Rumsey
Baudelu
Source : www.cartocassini.org

Aucun document ne nous est parvenu à propos de l'origine de cette maison, ni de l'occupation des lieux par les Templiers, le domaine ayant été détuit et incendié en 1385, lors des combats de la Guerre de Cent Ans.

Le domaine était situé à la limite de la paroisse d'Arbonne, au lieu dit Baudelu, sur la rive gauche de la petite rivière qui traverse la paroisse. Le domaine était constitué de 100 arpents(1) de terres cultivables, 60 arpents de forêts et 200 arpents de lande. La maison de Baudelu possédait aussi un moulin sur la rivière d'Ecolle, dans la paroisse de Courances, à environ 5km de Baudelu. Ce moulin sera détruit à la fin du 15e siècle.

Au début du 17e siècle, le domaine de Baudelu était dans un si mauvais état, pratiquement en ruine et inhabitée, que le commandeur du Saussay le cède au chevalier Henri Clausse(2), à charge pour lui de faire célébrer l'office divin dans la chapelle et de verser une rente annuelle à l'Ordre.

Notes :

(1)En fonction des régions, un arpent valait plus ou moins 50 ares.

(2)Henri Clausse, chevalier, seigneur de Fleury-en-Bière, gentilhomme ordinaire de la chambre du Roi, Grand Maître des Eaux et Forêts de France. Il est le filleul du roi de France Henri II. Il est le fils de Cosme Clausse, seigneur de Marchaumont et de Marie Burgensis. Il se marie en 1568 avec Denise de Neufville-Villeroy.


pour une bibliographie plus complète...Bibliographie
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017