The Preceptory of Beauvais-sur-Matha

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

France, department of Charente-Maritime

France, department of Charente-Maritime, around 25 km north-east of Cognac and around 40 km north-west of Angoulême.

The origin of Templar presence at Beauvais-sur-Matha is very mysterious. The ancient deeds recovered form the archives are very odd and present anachronisms which allows one to doubt their authenticity.

Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BeauvaissurM4.JPG
The buildings of the preceptory
Source : Wikimédia Commons
One of these deeds mention a donation made by the King of France Louis VII in Angoulême's Cathedral during the Pentecost of 1151 in front of among others Hugues of Payns, Master of the Temple (though he died in 1136) and Gerard(1), Bishop of Angoulême (also died in 1136)...
An other deed mentions a gift to the Templars by Guillaume de Mauzé(2), seneschal of Poitou, in the city of Acre in 1150 in front of Eudes de Saint-Amand, Master of the Temple (though he won't be Master until 1171)...

The only true information available is that the preceptory were created in the middle of the 12nd century as shown by the style of the portal of the church which still stands.

During the 13th century, Brother Elie de Matirac, Preceptor of Beauvais is mentionned as witness in an deed dated 1231 concerning the Preceptory of Les Epeaux.
In 1295, a bourgeois from Beauvais bequeathed some properties in his will to the Templars. The preceptor at this time, Brother Pierre du Tours is mentioned as witness in this deed.
During the interrogations following the arrest of the Templars, several Brothers of the Order have declared to have been admitted in the House of the Temple of Beauvais, also named in archives as Temple of Baves or Banes.

Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BeauvaissurM1.JPG
The buildings of the preceptory
Source : Wikimédia Commons

The pontifical inquiry on the properties of the Hospital established in 1373 gives us some clue to the full strength of the preceptory : One commander, one knight, one priest, one deacon, three sergeants and five secular people : one priest and four workers.
At this time, five houses depended on the preceptory of Beauvais : Le Fouilloux, Boixe, Angoulème, Sallerit et Bourcelaine.
The Hundred Years' War and the great plague which raged in this second half of the 14th century caused a considerable impoverishment of the entire domain.
At the time of the pontifical inquiry, three of these houses were deserted and thus yielded no income. The output of the two others was reduced to producing a few bushels(3) of grain. The income of the preceptory was just enough to ensure its defence and its survival.
After the war, Beauvais' Hospitalers obtained in 1452 from the King of France Charles VII(4), several letters patent allowing them to organise four annual fairs at Beauvais and in 1460 a licence restoring the weekly market on Friday .
During the 15th century, archives mentionned that the preceptories of Châteaubernard and Angles were reunited to Beauvais.

The different reports of priests visits during the following centuries show the evolution of the preceptory and inform us how tasks evolved over time.
The templar preceptory was erected in a rectangular form. The different buildings and the walls were set out around a vast inner yard.
The chapel built by Templars was considerably reworked through the years. Of the original building remains only the west wall pierced by a portal in roman style, and a part of the south wall.
The house of the commander has almost completely disappeared. Located in front of the church, only some traces remain of the foundation of shelters built there.
The barn, still visible today, formed entirely the west side of the square. It was an integral part of the defencive system of the preceptory as shown by its remains in the walls and its location among the other buildings.

Notes :

(1)Gerard II of Angouleme. He is native of Blay in Normandy. Born probably in 1060, he was first tutor of the counts of Perigord, before becoming canon at the cathedral of Périgueux and being named bishop of Angouleme in 1101. In 1107, he is legate of Pope Pascal II for Aquitaine. In 1110, he commissions the construction of the new cathedral of Angouleme. In 1131, he supported the anti-pope Anaclet II against Pope Innocent II. He died in 1136.

(2)It would be William IV, Lord of Mauze and Marans. He is the son of Porteclie I of Mauze. He is born around 1135 and died in 1200 or 1210 (depending on the sources). He is seneschal of Poitou from 1176 to his death.

(3)A bushel is an ancient measure of the capacity of "dry" products, such as cereals, flour, etc. Its value varied according to the time and place, but was close to 12 liters.

(4)Charles VII of Valois, known as Charles "le Victorieux", is born in Paris on February 22th, 1403 and died at Mehun-sur-Yèvre on July 22th, 1461. He is King of France from 1422 to 1461. He is the son of Charles VI and Of Isabeau of Bavaria.


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Les Commanderies des Templiers et des Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem en Saintonge et en Aunis"
    Anne-Marie Legras; Editions du Centre National de Recherche Scientifique 1983
  2. "Les Templiers dans le Sud-Ouest"
    Jacques Dubourg; Editions Sud Ouest 2001
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2018

La Commanderie de Beauvais-sur-Matha

Pas de galerie photo disponible

France, département de Charente-Maritime

France, département de Charente-Maritime, à environ 25 km au nord-est de Cognac et à environ 40 km au nord-ouest d'Angoulême.

L'origine de la présence des Templiers à Beauvais-sur-Matha est très mystérieuse. Les actes anciens retrouvés dans les archives sont très curieux et présentent des anachronismes qui permettent de douter de leur authenticité.

Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BeauvaissurM4.JPG
Les bâtiments de la commanderie
Source : Wikimédia Commons
L'un de ces actes mentionne un don fait par le roi de France Louis VII en la cathédrale d'Angoulême à la Pentecôte de 1151 en présence entre autres d'Hugues de Payns Maître du Temple (alors qu'il est mort en 1136) et de Gérard(1), évêque d'Angoulême (mort également en 1136)...

Un autre acte mentionne un don fait aux Templiers par Guillaume de Mauzé(2), Sénéchal de Poitou, à Acre en 1150 en présence de Eudes de Saint-Amand, Maître du Temple (alors que celui-ci ne sera Maître de l'Ordre qu'en 1171)...

Le seul indice disponible est que la commanderie aurait bien été crée vers le milieu du 12e siècle comme en atteste le style du portail d'entrée de l'église qui existe toujours.

Au 13e siècle, Frère Elie de Matirac, commandeur de Beauvais figure comme témoin dans un acte daté de 1231 concernant la commanderie des Epeaux.
En 1295, un bourgeois de Beauvais lègue par testament aux Templiers divers biens. Le commandeur de l'époque, Frère Pierre de Tours figure comme témoin de cet acte.

Au cours des interrogatoires qui ont suivi l'arrestation des Templiers, plusieurs frères de l'Ordre ont déclaré avoir été reçus dans la maison du Temple de Beauvais, citée aussi dans les minutes comme la maison de Baves ou de Banes.

Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BeauvaissurM1.JPG
Les bâtiments de la commanderie
Source : Wikimédia Commons

L'enquête pontificale sur l'état des biens des Hospitaliers établie en 1373 nous donne quelques informations sur les effectifs de la commanderie, à savoir : un commandeur, un chevalier, un prêtre, un diacre, trois sergents et cinq autres personnes : un prêtre et quatre travailleurs laïcs.
A cette époque, cinq maisons dépendaient de la commanderie de Beauvais : Le Fouilloux, Boixe, Angoulême, Sallerit et Bourcelaine.

La guerre de Cent Ans et la grande peste qui sévissait en cette deuxième moitié du 14e siècle ont causé un appauvrissement considérable du domaine entier.
A l'époque de l'enquête pontificale, trois des maisons sont désertées et ne fournissent donc plus aucune ressource. Les cultures des deux autres se réduisaient à la production de quelques boisseaux(3) de grains. Les revenus de la commanderie suffisaient juste à assurer sa survie et sa défense.
Après la guerre, les Hospitaliers de Beauvais ont obtenu du Roi Charles VII(4) en 1452 des lettres patentes les autorisant à installer quatre foires annuelles à Beauvais même et en 1460, des lettres patentes rétablissant le marché hebdomadaire du vendredi.

Au 15e siècle, les archives mentionnent que les commanderies de Châteaubernard et d'Angles sont rattachées à celle de Beauvais.

Les différents procès-verbaux établis lors des visites prieurales au cours des siècles suivants nous montrent l'évolution de la commanderie et nous renseignent sur les différents travaux qui ont dû être effectués au fil des ans.
La commanderie templière se présentait sous une forme rectangulaire. Les différents bâtiments ainsi que des murailles étaient disposés tout autour d'une vaste cour intérieure.
La chapelle, bâtie par les Templiers, a été fortement remaniée au cours des ans. Du bâtiment primitif, il ne reste que le mur ouest, percé d'un portail en style roman et une partie du mur sud.
Le logis du commandeur a quant à lui disparu presque totalement. Situé en face de l'église, il ne reste que des traces dans les bases des murs des hangars qui ont été construits à sa place.
La grange, toujours visible de nos jours, formait à elle seule le côté ouest du quadrilatère. Elle faisait partie intégrante du système défensif de l'ensemble, ainsi que le prouvent des vestiges laissés dans la maçonnerie et sa position parmi les bâtiments.

Notes :

(1)Gérard II d'Angoulême. Il est originaire de Blay en Normandie. Né sans doute vers 1060, il est d'abord précepteur des comtes de Périgord, avant de devenir chanoine à la cathédrale de Périgueux et d'être nommé évêque d’Angoulême en 1101. En 1107, il est légat du pape Pascal II pour l'Aquitaine. En 1110, il fait entreprendre la construction de la nouvelle cathédrale d'Angoulême. En 1131, il soutient l'antipape Anaclet II contre le pape Innocent II. Il meurt en 1136.

(2)Il s'agirait de Guillaume IV, seigneur de Mauzé et Marans. Il est le fils de Porteclie 1er de Mauzé. Il est né vers 1135 et meurt en 1200 ou 1210 (en fonction des sources). Il est sénéchal de Poitou de 1176 à sa mort.

(3)Un boisseau est une ancienne mesure de capacité de produits "secs", tels les céréales, la farine,... Sa valeur variait en fonction de l'époque et du lieu, mais était proche des 12 litres.

(4)Charles VII de Valois, dit Charles "le Victorieux", né à Paris le 22 février 1403 et mort à Mehun-sur-Yèvre le 22 juillet 1461. Il est roi de France de 1422 à 1461. Il est le fils de Charles VI et d'Isabeau de Bavière.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Les Commanderies des Templiers et des Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem en Saintonge et en Aunis"
    Anne-Marie Legras ; Editions du Centre National de Recherche Scientifique, 1983
  2. "Les Templiers dans le Sud-Ouest"
    Jacques Dubourg ; Editions Sud Ouest, 2001
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017