Bertrand de Blanchefort (1109??- 1169)

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

Master of the Temple from 1156 to 1169.

Born around 1109, Bertrand de Blanchefort is the younger son of Lord Godefroy de Blanchefort in Guyenne.
Acts made him appear as Master of the Order a few days after the death of Andre Montbard, which suggests that his election was well prepared by the General Chapter of the Order.

In 1157, he takes part alongside Baldwin III in the battle against Nur Al Din before Panéas. On the return of this expedition, Baldwin III dismisses all his army and returns quietly to Jerusalem. Nur Al Din, aware of the dislocation of the Frankish army, organises an ambush south of Lake Hue(1), at the Jacob's Ford.

The surprise is so great that most of the knights are killed or captured. Only Baldwin III succeeds in escaping with some knights.
Among the captive knights, there are two dignitaries of the Order of the Temple, the master Bertrand de Blanchefort, and the Marshal, Eudes de Saint-Amand.

They remain captive of Nur Al Din for 3 years in Damascus until the Emperor of Byzantium, Manuel 1st Komnenos negotiates a treaty of peace and redeemed the freedom of imprisoned crusaders knights.

Once freed, Bertrand de Blanchefort undertook a little in-depth reform of the rule, by having the "Retraits" drawn up, specifying the hierarchical usages and in particular the actions of the master who would no longer be able to decide on the collective future of the Order without Assent of the General Chapter. It seems that he is also at the origin of the use of the Abacus as sign of the function of Master of the Order.

In 1163, Amaury Ist succeeds his brother Baldwin III as King of Jerusalem. Immediately, he decides to concentrate all his efforts to fight against the Caliphate of Cairo, prey to a civil war between Suniites and Shiites.

Bertrand de Blanchefort and the Master of the Hospital(2) go with Amaury Ist in his Egyptian campaign. In September 1163, the Frankish army arrived before Bilbeis (Ancient Pelouse), a key city in the Nile delta, and laid siege to it.
The city is on the point of falling when Dirghâm(3), the head of the Egyptian army, cuts the Nile's levees and floods the plains where the franks are trenched, thus forcing them to retire.

The following year, Amaury Ist resumes his campaign against Egypt, at the request of the Vizier Shawar who wanted to get rid of Shirkuh, a lieutenant of Nur Al Din. The Christian armies, always assisted by the convents of the two Orders, recommence the siege of Bilbeis. Meanwhile, Nur Al Din undertakes a major campaign of diversion against the County of Tripoli and the Principality of Antioch.

Bertrand de Blanchefort then leaves the Egyptian countryside and ascends with an important contingent to the north, to face Nur-Al-Din. After a first victory, the Christian armies are defeated at the battle of Harîm (Harenc) which falls into the hands of Nur Al Din. During this confrontation, more than 60 Knights of the Temple are killed.

Still in order to counter the influence of Nur Al Din on Egypt, a knight of the Temple, Geoffroi Foucher, is sent in 1167 as an emissary to Al-‘Adîd, the Caliph of Cairo to propose him, in the name of Amaury Ist, an alliance against the Ayyubids of Nur Al Din.

In 1168, Amaury Ist decides to resume his campaign against the Egyptians, but Bertrand de Blanchefort refuses to accompany him because of the treaty alliance concluded the previous year by the envoy of the Temple.

According to the Reims Obituary, Bertrand de Blanchefort passed away from tiredness and old age on January 2nd 1169.

Previous Master : André de Montbard - Next Master : Philippe de Milly

Back to Masters list

Notes :

(1)The lake of Hûlé or lake Hula is located around thirty kilometers north of the lake of Tiberias (or Sea of Galilee). The Jacob's ford, located to the south of this lake, was a strategic point on the road between Syria and Galilee, a road used by caravans from China and heading to Egypt, the northern Africa and the Maghreb. Nowadays, this lake has been drained and transformed into an agricultural zone.

(2)At that time, the master of the Order of the Hospital is Gilbert d'Aissailly.

(3)Dirgham was one of Shawar's lieutenants when he captured the power and title of vizier in Fatimid Egypt by murdering the previous vizier Al-Adil Ruzzîk in December 1162. In 1163 Dirgham revolted against Shawar, who must flee and take refuge with Nur Al Din. The latter then sent the following year an army commanded by one of his faithful lieutenant, Shirkuh, the uncle of Saladin. During the ensuing fighting, Dirgham is killed and Shawar regains power, under the tutelage of Shirkuh.


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Histoire des Croisades et du Royaume Franc de Jerusalem (3 volumes)"
    René Grousset ; Librairie Académique Perrin 1991
  2. "Armorial des Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Bernard Marillier ; Editions Pardès, 2000
  3. "Les Grands Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Jacques Rolland ; Editions Dervy, 2004
  4. "Histoire des Templiers"
    J.-J.-E. Roy ; Editions Pardès, 1999
  5. "The Central Convent of Hospitalers and Templars - History, Organization and Personel (1099/1120-1310)"
    Jochen Burgtorf ; Editions Brill, 2008
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

Bertrand de Blanchefort (1109??-1169)

Maître de l'Ordre de 1156 à 1169

Né vers 1109, Bertrand de Blanchefort est le fils cadet du seigneur Godefroy de Blanchefort en Guyenne.
Des actes le font apparaître comme Maître de l'Ordre quelques jours après la mort d'André de Montbard, ce qui laisse supposer que son élection fut bien préparée par le Chapitre Général de l'Ordre.

En 1157, il participe aux côtés de Baudouin III à la bataille contre Nur Al Din devant Panéas. Au retour de cette expédition, Baudouin III congédie tout son ost et rentre tranquillement vers Jerusalem. Nur Al Din, au courant de la dislocation de l'armée franque organise une embuscade au sud du lac de Hûlé(1), au Gué de Jacob.

La surprise est tellement grande que la plupart des chevaliers francs sont tués ou capturés. Seul Baudouin III parvient à fuir avec quelques chevaliers.
Au nombre des chevaliers captifs, on compte deux dignitaires de l'Ordre du Temple, le maître de l'Ordre Bertrand de Blanchefort, et le Maréchal, Eudes de Saint-Amand.

Ils resteront captifs de Nur Al Din pendant 3 années à Damas, jusqu'à ce que l'Empereur de Byzance, Manuel 1er Comnène négocie un traité de paix et rachète la liberté des chevaliers francs emprisonnés.

Une fois libéré, Bertrand de Blanchefort va entreprendre une petite réforme en profondeur de la règle, en faisant rédiger les "Retraits", précisant les usages hiérarchiques et notamment les actions du maître qui ne pourra plus décider du devenir collectif de l'Ordre sans l'assentiment du Chapitre Général. Il semble qu'il soit aussi à l'origine de l'utilisation de l'Abacus comme insigne de la fonction de maître de l'Ordre.

En 1163, Amaury Ier succède à son frère Baudouin III comme Roi de Jerusalem. Aussitôt, il décide de concentrer tous ses efforts de lutte contre le califat du Caire, en proie à une guerre civile entre suniites et chiites.

Bertrand de Blanchefort, ainsi que le Maître de l'Hopital(2) accompagnèrent Amaury Ier dans sa campagne égyptienne. En septembre 1163, l'armée franque arrive devant Bilbéis (Ancienne Pélouse), ville clé du delta du Nil, et y mettent le siège.
La ville est sur le point de tomber lorsque Dirghâm(3), le chef de l'armée égyptienne, coupe les digues et inonde ainsi les plaines où sont retranchés les francs, les obligeant ainsi à la retraite.

L'année suivante, Amaury Ier reprend sa campagne contre l'Egypte, à la demande du vizir Shawar qui veut se débarrasser de Shirkuh, un lieutenant de Nur Al Din. Les armées chrétiennes, toujours assistées des couvents des deux Ordres, recommencent le siège de Bilbéis. Pendant ce temps, Nur Al Din entreprend une grande campagne de diversion contre le Comté de Tripoli et la Principauté d'Antioche.

Bertrand de Blanchefort quitte alors la campagne égyptienne et remonte avec un important contingent vers le nord, pour affronter Nur-Al-Din. Après une première victoire, les armées chrétiennes sont défaites lors de la bataille de Harîm (Harenc) qui tombe aux mains de Nur Al Din. Au cours de cet affrontement, plus de 60 chevaliers du Temple sont tués.

Toujours dans un but de contrer l'influence de Nur Al Din sur l'Egypte, un chevalier du Temple, Geoffroi Foucher, est envoyé en 1167 comme émissaire chez Al-‘Adîd, le calife du Caire pour lui proposer, au nom d'Amaury Ier, une alliance contre les Ayyubides de Nur Al Din.

En 1168, Amaury Ier décide de reprendre sa campagne contre les égyptiens, mais Bertrand de Blanchefort refuse de l'accompagner à cause du traité d'alliance conclu l'année précédente par l'envoyé du Temple.

Bertrand de Blanchefort s'éteint de fatigue et de vieillesse le 2 janvier 1169 d'après l'obituaire de Reims.

Ecartelé : au premier et au quatrième d'argent à la croix pattée et alésée de gueules, au deuxième et au troisième contre-fascé d'or et de gueules de quatre pièces

Maître précédent : André de Montbard - Maître suivant : Philippe de Milly

Retour à la liste des Maîtres

Notes :

(1)Le lac de Hûlé ou lac de la Houla est situé à une trentaine de kilomètres au nord du lac de Tibériade (ou Mer de Galilée). Le Gué de Jacob, situé au sud de ce lac était un point stratégique sur la route entre la Syrie et la Galilée, route utilisée par les caravanes venant de Chine et se dirigeant vers l'Egypte et tout le nord de l'Afrique, jusqu'au Maghreb. Actuellement, ce lac a été asséché et transformé en zone agricole.

(2)A ce moment, le maître de l'Ordre de l'Hopital est Gilbert d'Aissailly.

(3)Dirgham est l'un des lieutenants de Shawar lorsque ce dernier s'empare du pouvoir et du titre de vizir en Egypte Fatimide en faisant assassiner le vizir précédent, Al-Adil Ruzzîk en décembre 1162. En 1163, Dirgham se révolte contre Shawar qui doit aller se réfugier chez Nur Al Din. Ce dernier envoie alors, l'année suivante, une armée commandée par un de ses fidèles lieutenant, Shirkuh, l'oncle de Saladin. Au cours des combats qui s'ensuivent, Dirgham est tué et Shawar reprend le pouvoir, sous la tutelle de Shirkuh.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Histoire des Croisades et du Royaume Franc de Jerusalem (3 volumes)"
    René Grousset ; Librairie Académique Perrin 1991
  2. "Armorial des Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Bernard Marillier ; Editions Pardès, 2000
  3. "Les Grands Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Jacques Rolland ; Editions Dervy, 2004
  4. "Histoire des Templiers"
    J.-J.-E. Roy ; Editions Pardès, 1999
  5. "The Central Convent of Hospitalers and Templars - History, Organization and Personel (1099/1120-1310)"
    Jochen Burgtorf ; Editions Brill, 2008
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017