The castle of Braniewo

    Pages list about this topic :
  1. Site presentation (current page)
  2. Pictures bank
Pologne, Województwo Warminsko-Mazurskie

Poland, Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship, town of Braniewo, around 40 km north-east of Elbląg and around 5 km south of the border of the Russian enclave of Kaliningrad.

A few years after its arriving in Poland(1), the Teutonic Orderr already had invaded the territory of the Old-Prussian Tribe of Warmians(2). After these invasions, the diocese of Warmia(3) is created in 1243. The running of the new diocese was divided between the Bishop and the Canons Chapter, at the rate of 2/3 for the former and 1/3 for the latter.

The bishop of Warmia chose Braunsberg (from the Old-Prussian name of Brausebergue, Braniewo in Polish), located at the mouth of the Pasłęka River on the "Zalew Wiślany"(4), as seat of the diocese. Firstly, they began the construction of a gród(5) they transformed later into a stronghold, and at the same time they began also the construction of the first cathedral of Warmia, dedicated to St-Andrew Apostle.

Vue d'artiste du château de braniewo
Drawing of the castle of Braniewo
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Warmii i Mazur

During the Second Old-Prussian Insurrection(6), the town of Braniewo was destroyed and the cathedral severely damaged. The Bishop and the Chapter focused their attention then on the place of Frombork, finding it more favourable for the rebuilding of the seat of the diocese and the cathedral. In 1279, Bishop Henry I Fleming(7) moved officially the seat of the diocese from Braniewo to Frombork, and began the construction of the new cathedral.

At the same time, at the end of the war against the Old-Prussians, the Chapter with the agreement of the Teutonic Order, began the construction in Braniewo of a stone castle (or stronghold) at the location of the old gród.
The first construction phase consisted in building a square on the left bank of the Pasłęka River. The southern part of the wall was kept for housing, while the northern and western parts for outbuildings. The entry of the castle was in the eastern part of the wall, in the middle of the curtain and protected by a tower.

In the beginning of the 14th century, the castle was extended to the east. On that side, the low yard (or bailey) was built roughly the same size as the castle itself.
The south part of this low yard is still reserved for housing. The last phase of building the castle occurred in the second half of the 14th century, with the construction of outbuildings on the east side of the low yard.
At the four corners of the whole castle, squared towers were erected. On the town side, a deep and large moat was dug out. On the latter fed by the river, the entry was fortified by the construction of two towers and a curtain above the moat. Access to the castle through the second tower was via an enclosed corridor.

In 1396, during a peoples’ revolt, the inhabitants of the town destroyed the towers and the wall on the western side of the castle.
On February 6th 1454(8), the inhabitants attacked the castle and seized it. Finally and reluctantly, they put it into the hands of the Polish Army. But, a few years later, during the night of September 10th to 11th 1461, furious against the polish occupation, the villagers besieged once again the castle, seized it again and killed the entire Polish garrison.

During a Two Years War between the Order

and the Polish Kingdom, the Great Master of the Teutonic Order, Olbrecht Hohenzollern, seized the castle by trick on springtime 1520. On July 7th the Polish troops tried to seize it back, but the Teutonic Garrison resisted the assault.

After this war, the castle reverted to the Bishop of Warmia. During the period of the First Partition of Poland(9), the castle was located in the Prussian side. The authorities then decided to put a school within its walls.
In the 1920-s, the castle was rebuilt, but burned in 1945.

Parallel to development of the castle, the small village of Braniewo also developed into a powerful fortified city.
A double line (doublet) of walls protected the city. On these walls were between 10 and 20 watch towers and 8 gates.

In 1261 the city was burned by the Old-Prussians. After that arson, the city was rebuilt in the shadow of the castle and repopulated by inhabitants from Lübeck.
In 1284, Braniewo get commecial privileges according the Lübeck Law(10).

Its place at the mouth of the River, on the banks of "Zalew Wiślany", made the town one of the most important harbours in the area. From the second half of the 14th century, Braniewo was integrated in the powerful Hanseatic League and greatly benefitted from the "Prawo Skladu"(11).

In the Middle Ages, Braniewo owned its own merchant fleet. At that time, the "Zalew Wiślany" was accessible via Cieśnina Piławska (Strait of Baltiisk) nowadays located in the Russian territory of the Oblast of Kaliningrad.
But, with the development of ships, the increase of tonnage and draught, the access to Braniewo by the Strait became less and less easy and the power of the city began to decline.

Nowadays, of the Teutonic fortress only a tower remains as the entry point between the Castle and the low yard. As for the city, there only remain parts of its walls and a few towers.

Notes :

(1)The Teutonic Order arrived in Mazovian on invitation by the Duke Konrad Mazowiecki around 1226 - 1228. The Teutonic forays into Warmians territories dated from 1230.

(2)This region, nowadays located on North-east of Poland (also called Borders or Marches in English) was occupied by several Old-Prussian and Baltic Tribes, among them the Pomeranians, Pomesanians, Warmians, Semigalians,... Follow this link on Wikipedia to have a glimpse of this tribes.

(3)Henryk von Strittberg was the first Bishop appointed by the Teutonic Order, but never occupied the seat. The first Bishop who really occupied the seat was a certain Anselm, also of the Teutonic Order like his predecessor.

(4)Zalew Wiślany is the lagoon formed by the Vistula River at its mouth. This lagoon is separated from the Baltic Sea by the Peninsula of the Vistula and flows into it via the Cieśnina Piławska (Strait of de Baltiisk) located in the Russian territory of the Oblast of Kaliningrad.

(5)A gród is a fortification made of wood and of clay, often a small village or hamlet of some houses surrounded by a boarding, with or without keep or watch tower.

(6)This second insurrection began on 20 September 1260, the day after the defeat of the Teutonic Order against a coalition of Lithuanian and Samogitian tribes during the Battle of Durbe. This defeat of the Order provoked an uprising, which spread rapidly throughout the territory of the Old-Prussian tribes. The various castles of the Order were besieged, and the smallest ones began to fall into the hands of the Old-Prussians. Despite the arrival of numerous reinforcements from the German Empire and all of Europe, it was not until 1265 that the Teutonic Order began to defeat its enemies. It would be a few years before the various chiefs of tribes were defeated and hanged, during the winter of 1271-1272. In 1274, the Order attacked Lidzbark Warmiński, captured the last rebel leader and executed him, thus causing the end of the uprising.

(7)Henry Fleming was the second Bishop of Warmia. He was consecrated at the beginning of 1279, succeeding Anselm, who died in Elbląg in the year 1278. He died on 15 July 1300.

(8)It is the 13 Years War, a new war between the Teutonic Order and the Kingdom of Poland from 1454 to 1466. It ended with the victory of Poland and the 2nd Treaty of Toruń signed by both belligerents in 1466.

(9)From the end of the 16th century and due to problems of dynastical succession, the King of Poland was elected by the nobility. This nobility profited of the weakening of the royal power such that it was granted more and more private privileges to the detriment of development of the country. That "dissolution" of the royal power resulted in the immediate neighbours of Poland (Russia, Prussia, Austria-Hungary) viewing the rich polish estates with more and more ambition such that, in 1772 those three powers colluded to partition the Polish country among them. In 1795, at the moment of the Third Partition, Poland disappeared from the European map.

(10)The Lübeck law was the constitution of a municipal form of government developed at Lübeck, after it was made a free city in 1226. The law provided for self-government. In theory, that law made the cities to which it applied independent of royalty. The Lübeck law stipulated that a city should be governed by a Council of 20 members.

(11)Meaning the commercial rights granted to some coastal cities, to force merchants of neighbouring cities to sell their goods at said coastal cities’ markets for a certain time, before allowing merchants to sell their goods elsewhere.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Warmii i Mazur"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

Le château de Braniewo

Le château de Braniewo
Diaporama en bas de page
Pologne, Województwo Warminsko-Mazurskie

Pologne, Voïvodie de Varmie-Mazurie, ville de Braniewo, à environ 40 km au nord-est d'Elbląg et à environ 5 km au sud de la frontière de l'enclave russe de l'Oblast de Kaliningrad.

Quelques années après son arrivée en Pologne(1), l'Ordre Teutonique envahit déjà les terres de la tribu prusse des Warmiens(2). Suite à ces invasions, l'évêché de Warmie(3) est créé en 1243. La gestion du territoire de l'évêché nouvellement constitué est partagé entre l'évêque et le chapitre des chanoines, à raison de 2/3 pour le premier et 1/3 pour les autres.

Les évêques de Warmie choisissent Braunsberg (du nom prusse Brausebergue, Braniewo en polonais), situé à quelques kilomètres un peu plus au nord-est à l'embouchure du fleuve Pasłęka sur le "Zalew Wiślany"(4), comme siège de l'évêché. Ils y entament d'abord la construction d'un gród(5) qu'ils transformeront par la suite en château-fort et en même temps, ils commencent la construction de la première cathédrale de Warmie, dédiée à St André l'Apôtre.

Vue d'artiste du château de braniewo
Vue d'artiste du château de Braniewo
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Warmii i Mazur

Au cours de la deuxième insurrection des Prusses(6), la ville de Braniewo est détruite et la cathédrale fortement endommagée. L'évêque et le chapitre portent alors leur attention sur le site de Frombork, le trouvant plus propice à la reconstruction de l'évêché et de la cathédrale. En 1279, l'évêque Henry I Fleming(7) déplace officiellement le siège de l'évêché de Braniewo à Frombork, et commence les travaux de construction d'une nouvelle cathédrale.

A la même époque, à la fin de la guerre contre les Prusses, le chapitre de l'évêché, en accord avec l'Ordre Teutonique commence la construction d'un château en dur plus ou moins à l'emplacement du gród prusse.
La première phase des travaux consiste sans doute en la construction d'un quadrilatère sur la rive gauche du fleuve Pasłęka. La partie sud des murailles est réservée au logement, tandis que les côtés nord et ouest sont réservés aux communs. L'entrée du château se trouvet dans le mur est, au milieu de la courtine et protégée par une tour.

Au début du 14e siècle, le château est agrandi vers l'est. On construit de ce côté la basse-cour qui avait plus ou moins la grandeur du château principal.
La partie sud de cette basse-cour est à nouveau réservée au logement. La dernière phase des travaux du château se déroule dans la deuxième moitié du 14e siècle, avec la constructions de bâtiments communs et de dépendances du côté est de la basse-cour.
Aux quatre angles de l'ensemble du château, des tours carrées sont érigées. Du côté de la ville, une grande douve est creusée. Sur cette douve, alimentée par le fleuve, l'entrée est fortifiée par la construction de deux tours et d'un chemin fortifié par dessus la douve. L'accès au château par la deuxième tour se fait par un couloir fermé. (voir le dessin à droite)

En 1396, pendant une révolte populaire, les habitants de la ville détruisent les tours et les murs ouest du château.
Le 6 février 1454(8), les habitants de la ville attaquent le château et s'en emparent. Ils remettent finalement, mais à contre coeur, le château à l'armée polonaise. Mais, quelques années plus tard, la nuit du 10 au 11 septembre 1461, furieux contre l'occupation polonaise, les villageois assiègent encore une fois le château, le prennent et tuent toute la garnison polonaise qui s'y trouvait.

Au cours d'une guerre de deux ans entre la Prusse et le royaume de Pologne, le grand maitre Teutonique, Olbrecht Hohenzollern prend le château par ruse au printemps 1520. Le 7 juillet, les troupes polonaises tentent de reprendre le château, mais la garnison teutonique résiste à l'assaut.

Après cette guerre le château revient entre les mains de l'évêque de Warmie. Pendant le Premier Partage de la Pologne(9) le château se retrouve dans la partie prusienne; Les autorités décident alors d'y installer une école.
Dans les années 1920, le château est reconstruit, mais sera brûlé en 1945.

Parallèlement au développement du château, le petit village de Braniewo s'est aussi développé pour devenir une puissante cité fortifiée.
Une double lignes de murailles protégeait la ville. Il y avait entre 10 et 20 tours de garde et 8 portes.

En 1261 , la ville est brûlée par les prusses. Après la guerre contre les Prusses, la ville est reconstruite à l'ombre du château et repeuplée par des habitants de Lübeck.
En 1284, Braniewo obtient des privilèges commerciaux selon la loi de Lübeck(10).

Son emplacement sur la rive du Zalew Wiślany, a fait de la ville un des ports les plus important de la région. A partir de la deuxième moitié du 14e siècle, Braniewo est intégrée dans la puissante ligue Hanséatique et bénéficie des avantageux "Prawo Składu"(11).

Au Moyen-Age, Braniewo possédait aussi sa propre flotte marchande. A cette époque, le Zalew Wiślany était accessible via le Cieśnina Piławska (Détroit de Baltiisk) situé actuellement sur le territoire russe de l'Oblast de Kaliningrad.
Mais, avec le développement des bateaux, l'augmentation du tonnage et du tirant d'eau, l'accès à Braniewo par le détroit devenait de moins en moins facile et la puissance de la ville a commencé à décliner.

Actuellement, il ne reste de la forteresse teutonique qu'une seule tour, qui était la tour de l'entrée entre le château haut et la basse-cour. La ville quant à elle a gardé quelques fragments de ses murailles ainsi que quelques tours.

Notes :

(1)L'Ordre Teutonique est arrivé en Mazovie à la demande du duc Konrad Mazowiecki vers 1226 - 1228. Les incursions teutoniques dans les territoires des Warmiens datent de 1230.

(2)Cette région, actuellement située au nord-est de la Pologne actuelle était occupée par plusieurs tribus prusses (également appelées Borusses en français) et des tribus baltes, dont les Poméraniens, les Pomésaniens, les Warmiens, les Semigaliens,... Suivez-ce lien sur Wikipédia pour avoir un aperçu de ces tribus.

(3)Henryk von Strittberg sera le premier évêque nommé par l'Ordre Teutonique, mais il n'occupera jamais le siège. Le premier évêque qui occupera effectivement le siège sera un certain Anselme, également membre de l'Ordre Teutonique comme l'était son prédécesseur.

(4)Le Zalew Wiślany est la lagune créée par la Vistule à son embouchure. Cette lagune est séparée de la Mer Baltique par la Presqu'Île de la Vistule et s'y jette par le Cieśnina Piławska (Détroit de Baltiisk) situé sur le territoire russe de l'Oblast de Kaliningrad.

(5)Un gród est un ensemble de fortifié en terre et en bois, souvent un petit village de quelques maisons ceinturé d'une palissade, avec ou sans tour de guet.

(6)Cette deuxième insurrection commence le 20 septembre 1260, au lendemain de la défaite de l'Ordre Teutonique contre une coalition de tribus lituaniennes et Samogitiennes lors de la bataille de Durbe. Cette défaite de l'Ordre a provoqué un soulèvement qui s'est rapidement étendu à travers tout le territoire des tribus prusses. Les différents châteaux de l'Ordre sont assiégés, et les plus petits d'entre eux commencent à tomber aux mains des Prusses. Malgré l'arrivée de nombreux renforts venus de l'Empire Germanique et de toute l'Europe, il faudra attendre 1265 pour que l'Ordre Teutonique ne commence à vaincre ses ennemis. Il faudra encore quelques années avant que les différents chefs de tribus ne soient défaits et pendus, au cours de l'hiver 1271-1272. En 1274, l'Ordre attaque Lidzbark Warmiński, y capture le dernier chef rebelle et le fait éxécuter, provoquant ainsi la fin du soulèvement.

(7)Henri Fleming est le deuxième évêque de Varmie. Il est sacré au début de l'année 1279, il succède à Anselme, décédé à Elbląg dans e courant de l'année 1278. Il meurt le 15 juillet 1300.

(8)Il s'agit de la guerre de 13 ans, une nouvelle guerre entre l'Ordre Teutonique et la Pologne de 1454 à 1466. Elle s'est achevée par la victoire de la Pologne et le 2e traité de Toruń signé par les deux parties en 1466.

(9)Depuis la fin du 16e siècle et à cause de problèmes de succession dynastique, le roi de Pologne est élu par la noblesse. Cette noblesse a profité ainsi de l'affaiblissement du pouvoir royal pour se voir octroyer de plus en plus de privilèges particuliers au détriment du développement du pays. Cette "dissolution" du pouvoir a eu comme conséquence que les voisins directs de la Pologne, Russie, Prusse, Autriche-Hongrie ont eu des vues de plus en plus précises sur les riches terres polonaises et en 1772, les trois puissances se sont mises d'accord et ont commencé le partage de la Pologne entre elles. En 1795, au moment du Troisème partage, la Pologne a disparu des cartes de l'époque.

(10)La loi de Lübeck est la constitution d'une forme municipale de gouvernement développée à Lübeck, après qu'elle ait été faite une ville libre en 1226. Cette loi prévoit l'autonomie gouvernementale. En théorie, cette loi rendait les villes auxquelles elle s'appliquait indépendantes de la royauté. La loi de Lübeck prévoyait qu'une ville soit gouvernée par un Conseil de 20 membres.

(11)Il s'agit de droits commerciaux attribués à certaines villes côtières qui obligeait les marchands des villes de la région à obligatoirement mettre leurs marchandises en vente sur les marchés de cette ville durant un certain temps avant de pouvoir les présenter ailleurs.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Warmii i Mazur"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017