The chapel of Bras

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

France, département du Var

France, Départment of Var (83), 15 km south of Barjols, in the center of the triangle formed by Barjols, Brignolles and St-Maximin-la-Ste-Baume.

The date of the settling of the Templars in Bras cannot be fixed with certainty.
The first known document concerning the existence of the preceptory in Bras is dated from August 1220. This document is an arbitration carried out by the Bishop of Fréjus(1) between the preceptor Bras, Brother Bernard and the prior of the parish, concerning the construction by the Order of a chapel next to the preceptory, to replace the existing oratory.

La chapelle de Bras
The chapel of Bras
Source : Wikipédia

The judgement given by the Bishop of Frejus stipulated that the offerings made at the oratory and the future chapel should be divided between the preceptor and the prior, that the oratory and the chapel should contain only one altar and would have only two bells, which should ring the offices after those of the parish; that no public ceremony would be celebrated, such as marriage, churching of women(2), procession of the Palms, or kissing of the cross; And that, finally, no parishioner of Bras would be permitted to be buried there, unless an express request was made out of all constraint, one third of the bequests eventually granted to the Temple returning in this case to the prior.

This document only gives us the indication that at that time the Templars were already well established in Bras and that they wanted to increase their influence by building this chapel.

Another element that may give an indication of the date of the installation of the Knights Templars is to be found in Richerenches's cartulary, which shows that a certain Fulk of Bras was mentioned as preceptor of Richerenches between 1173 and 1179. He probably made a gift of land or estate upon admission to the Order of the Temple.
The same Fulk of Bras was found as commander of Bayle in 1170. This last date would then seem to indicate that the creation of the Preceptory of Bras would therefore be well before 1170, since it is unlikely that Fulk became Preceptor from his entrance into the Order.

La chapelle de Bras
The chapel of Bras
Source : Wikipédia

A second document, dated from March 21st, 1221, tells us that a certain G. Fouques confirms a sale of land, meadows and vines to Brother Bernard, preceptor of the house of the Temple of Bras.

In 1232, Bertrand d'Auriac and his wife gave up to the Brothers de Bras the rights they had on an estate located in the hamlet "Rodels de Auriaco", between Bras and Auriac.

On January 31st, 1235, Pierre de Pontevès(3), Lord of Bras, sold a large part of his seigniory to the Templars, that is to say lands, the rights of jurisdiction, three mills, an oven... With this purchase, the preceptor of Bras, also gets the title of co-lord of the region.

The Order will not cease to enlarge its domain of Bras, by new donations, new acquisitions or exchanges. It will have properties in Saint-Maximin(4), in the town itself and in many surrounding hamlets, and even estates at La Roquebrussane(5).

Bras sur la carte de Cassini - David Rumsey
Bras on Cassini's map - David Rumsey
Source : www.cartocassini.org

After the dissolution of the Order of the Temple and the transfer of its preceptories to the Order of the Hospital of Saint John, the preceptory of Bras was first attached to that of Aix and then to that of Marseille.
In the 17th and 18th centuries, the title of co-lord was devolved to the bailiffs of Montfort. The important revenues of its estate and the noble lands it possessed valued the preceptory to have often at its head the great names of the Provençal nobility.

Of that preceptory, located in the hospital hamlet, at the exit of the village on the road to Saint-Maximim, there remains only the small roman chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Bethlehem.
It is a fine example of a roman rural chapel in Provence, remarkable above all for its neat walls. It is oriented east-west and has a small apse in "cul-de-four" on the east wall, surmounted by a bell tower with two bays.
The door, with its beautiful ornaments decorated with saw-teeth, is pierced in the north facade, an unusual arrangement, but which can be explained here by the presence of the buildings of the preceptory opposite it.

The interior consists of two bays delimited by double arches. It is illuminated by a small opening in the wall of the apse, and an oculus in the south wall.

The archives of the preceptory, preserved in Marseilles, in the departmental archives, give a very interesting tableau, which reflects the economic life of the land in the 12th century to our days through the Revolution.

These archives gives us the names of the successive preceptors in Bras:

  1. Bernard 1220 - 1222 - 1232 - 1237
  2. Guillaume de Mujols 1253 - 1255
  3. Giraud 1256
  4. Arnaud 1258
  5. Izarn 1258 - 1262 - 1263 - 1266 - 1267 - 1271
  6. Pierre de Cassalis 1274
  7. Albert de Blacas 1275 - 1298
  8. Geoffroi de Lançon 1287
  9. Rostang Comut 1294
  10. Raimond Benoît 1308

Notes :

(1)We know very little about Bishop Olivier, who succeeded Raymond de Puyricard at an unknown date. It is known that he was Prior of the Chartreuse of Verne before being appointed to the episcopal see of Frejus.

(2)The Churching of Women is a medieval Christian ceremony wherein a blessing is given to mothers after recovery from childbirth.

(3)Pierre de Pontevès comes from one of the oldest and most illustrious noble Provencal families. Little is known about him. He is undoubtedly a cousin or uncle of the last lord of Pontevès, in direct male line, Fulk 1st, died around 1220.

(4)Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, located around 9 km west of Bras.

(5)La Roquebrussane, located around 22 km south of Bras.


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Les templiers en Provence"
    Laurent Dailliez ; Alpes - Méditerranée Editions, 1977
  2. "Templiers et Hospitaliers en Provence et dans les Alpes-Maritimes"
    Joseph-Antoine Durbec ; Le Mercure Dauphinois, 2006
  3. "Sur les Traces des Templiers du Var et des Alpes-Maritimes"
    Bernard Falques de Bezaure ; Provencalement vôtre, 1996
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La Chapelle de Bras

Pas de galerie photo disponible

France, département du Var

France, département du Var(83), à 15 km au sud de Barjols, au centre du triangle formé par Barjols, Brignolles et St-Maximin-la-Ste-Baume

La date de l'établissement des templiers à Bras ne peut être fixée de façon certaine.
Le premier document connu concernant l'existence de la commanderie à Bras est daté du mois d'août 1220. Ce document est un arbitrage effectué par l'évêque de Fréjus(1) entre le précepteur de Bras, Frère Bernard et le prieur de la paroisse, concernant la construction par l'Ordre d'une chapelle à côté de la commanderie pour remplacer l'oratoire existant.

La chapelle de Bras
La chapelle de Bras
Source : Wikipédia

La sentence, rendue par l'évêque de Fréjus, stipulait que les offrandes faites à l'oratoire et à la future chapelle seraient partagées entre le commandeur et le prieur, que l'oratoire et la chapelle ne comporteraient qu'un seul autel et ne disposeraient que de deux cloches, qui devraient sonner les offices après celles de la paroisse; qu'il n'y serait célébré aucune cérémonie publique telle que mariage, relevailles(2), procession des rameaux ou baisement de croix; et qu'enfin nul paroissien de Bras ne pourrait s'y faire ensevelir, sauf demande expresse formulée hors de toute contrainte, le tiers des legs consentis éventuellement au Temple revenant en ce cas au prieur.

Ce document nous donne seulement l'indication qu'à cette date, les Templiers étaient déjà bien implantés à Bras et qu'ils voulaient augmenter leur influence en construisant cette chapelle.

Un autre élément pouvant donner une indication sur la date de l'installation des Templiers à Bras se trouve dans le cartulaire de Richerenches, qui nous montre qu'un certain Foulques de Bras est cité comme commandeur de Richerenches entre 1173 et 1179. Il a sans doute fait don d'une terre ou d'un domaine lors de son admission dans l'Ordre du Temple.
On retrouve ce même Foulques de Bras en tant que commandeur de Bayle en 1170. Cette dernière date semblerait alors indiquer que la création de la Commanderie de Bras serait donc bien antérieure à l'année 1170, étant peu probable que Foulques soit devenu commandeur dès son admission dans l'Ordre.

La chapelle de Bras
La chapelle de Bras
Source : Wikipédia

Un second document, daté du 21 mars 1221, nous indique qu'un certain G. Fouques confirme une vente de terres, de prés et de vignes à Frère Bernard, commandeur de la maison du Temple de Bras.

En 1232, Bertrand d'Auriac et sa femme abandonnent aux Frères de Bras, les droits qu'ils ont sur un domaine situé au hameau "del Rodels de Auriaco", situé entre Bras et Auriac.

Le 31 janvier 1235, c'est Pierre de Pontevès(3), seigneur de Bras, qui vend une grande partie de sa seigneurie aux Templiers, c'est à dire des terres, les droits de juridiction, trois moulins, un four,... Avec cet achat le commandeur de Bras, obtient également le titre de co-seigneur de la région.

L'Ordre n'aura de cesse d'agrandir son domaine de Bras, par de nouveaux dons, de nouvelles acquisitions ou des échanges. Il aura des propriétés à Saint-Maximin(4), dans la ville même et dans de nombreux hameaux aux alentours, et même des domaine à La Roquebrussane(5).

Bras sur la carte de Cassini - David Rumsey
Bras sur la carte de Cassini - David Rumsey
Source : www.cartocassini.org

Après la dissolution de l'Ordre du Temple et le transfert de ses commanderies à l'Ordre de l'Hopital de Saint-Jean, la commanderie de Bras sera d'abord rattachée à celle d'Aix et ensuite à celle de Marseille.
Au 17e et au 18e siècles, le titre de co-seigneur fut dévolu aux baillis de Montfort. Les revenus importants de son domaine et les terres nobles qu'elle possédait valurent à la commanderie d'avoir souvent à sa tête de grands noms du nobiliaire Provençal.

De cette commanderie, située au quartier de l'hôpital, à la sortie du village sur la route de Saint-Maximim, il ne reste que la petite chapelle romane dédiée à N.D. de Bethléem.
C'est un bel exemple de chapelle romane rurale de Provence, remarquable surtout par l'appareil soigné de ses murs. Elle est orientée est-ouest et possède une petite abside en cul-de four faisant saillie sur la paroi est, surmontée par un clocheton à deux baies.
La porte, aux beaux claveaux ornés de dents de scie, est percée dans la façade Nord, disposition peu fréquente, mais qui s'explique ici par la présence vis à vis d'elle des bâtiments de la commanderie.

L'intérieur se compose de deux travées délimitées par des arcs doubleaux. Il est éclairé par une petite ouverture ébrasée pratiquée dans le mur de l'abside, et un oculus dans la paroi sud.

Les archives de la commanderie, conservées à Marseille, aux archives départementales, constituent un fonds très intéressant, où se reflète la vie économique du terroir au 12e siècle à nos jours en passant par la Révolution.

Ces archives nous indiquent les noms des commandeurs qui se sont succédé à Bras :

  1. Bernard 1220 - 1222 - 1232 - 1237
  2. Guillaume de Mujols 1253 - 1255
  3. Giraud 1256
  4. Arnaud 1258
  5. Izarn 1258 - 1262 - 1263 - 1266 - 1267 - 1271
  6. Pierre de Cassalis 1274
  7. Albert de Blacas 1275 - 1298
  8. Geoffroi de Lançon 1287
  9. Rostang Comut 1294
  10. Raimond Benoît 1308

Notes :

(1)On ignore beaucoup de chose sur l'évêque Olivier, qui succède à une date indéterminée à Raymond de Puyricard. On sait qu'il était Prieur de la chartreuse de Verne avant d'être nommé au siège épiscopal de Fréjus.

(2)Les relevailles sont une cérémonie chrétienne médiévale où une bénédiction est donnée aux mères après leur rétablissement suite à leur accouchement.

(3)Pierre de Pontevès est issu d'une des plus ancienne et des plus illustres famille noble provençale. On connait peu de chose à propos de ce Pierre. Il est sans doute un cousin du dernier seigneur de Pontevès, en ligne mâle directe, Foulques 1er, décédé vers 1220.

(4)Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume, situé à environ 9 km à l'ouest de Bras.

(5)La Roquebrussane, située à environ 22 km au sud de Bras.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Les templiers en Provence"
    Laurent Dailliez ; Alpes - Méditerranée Editions, 1977
  2. "Templiers et Hospitaliers en Provence et dans les Alpes-Maritimes"
    Joseph-Antoine Durbec ; Le Mercure Dauphinois, 2006
  3. "Sur les Traces des Templiers du Var et des Alpes-Maritimes"
    Bernard Falques de Bezaure ; Provencalement vôtre, 1996
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017