The preceptory of Brumetz

Contributor : Frédérique Roustant
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

France, département de l'Aisne

France, department of Aisne, about 30 km north-east of Meaux.

We have very little information about the creation of a preceptory in Brumetz and even less about whether this place belonged to the Order of the Temple or the Order of the Hospital.

As in his book, E. Mannier did not expressly specify that Brumetz had a Templar origin, we will consider that the Order of the Hospital was at the origin of the creation of this house.

E. Mannier also added : "The farm was in front of the village cemetery along the road to Gandelu.
This domain, in which the Preceptor held all the judicial, high, medium and low, had been formed by several acquisitions made by the Hospitallers in the course of the 14th century, of the priests of the Holy Trinity(1) , living in Cerfroid, dependency of Brumetz. This priory had received the greatest part of its property and revenue, from Gauthier de Chatillon(2) , count de Portien, and constable of France. This lord had given them, in 1310, lands in his seigniory of Brumetz and rights of use in the woods of Cerfroid, Gandelu and Passy. He had, moreover, redeemed(3) all that the priory possessed in the seigniory of Gandelu, in charge of causing two masses of the Holy Spirit to be said for him every year, as long as he lived, and after his death two masses of "Requiem ".
The income of Brumetz was, in 1757, of 1000 livres, and in 1783, 1700 livres."

At its peak, the domain of Brumetz consisted of a large farm and more than 150 arpents(4) of lands.

Notes :

(1)The Order of the Most Holy Trinity and of the Captives, known as the Trinitarian Order, is a Catholic religious order founded around 1194 at Cerfroid by Saint John of Matha and Saint Felix of Valois, to redeem the Christians captive of the Moors.

(2)Gaucher V of Châtillon, born around 1249 in Châtillon-sur-Marne and died in 1329. He is buried in the abbey of Pont-aux-Dames, in Couilly-Pont-aux-Dames. He is the son of Gaucher IV of Châtillon and Isabelle of Villehardouin. He is lord of Chatillon, count of Porcien. He was appointed constable of Champagne in by King Philippe III, then appointed constable of France by King Philip IV "the Fair".

(3)Permanently relinquish the rights and obligations attached to a property by allowing it to become the property of ‘mainmorte’ people in return for compensation or without charge.

(4)Depending on the region, one arpent was more or less 50 ares.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliography
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La maison de Brumetz

Contributrice : Frédérique Roustant
Pas de galerie photo disponible

France, département de l'Aisne

France, département de l'Aisne, à environ 30 km au nord-est de Meaux.

Nous avons très peu d'informations à propos de la création d'une commanderie à Brumetz et encore moins pour savoir si cet endroit appartenait à l'Ordre du Temple ou à l'Ordre de l'Hopital.

Dans son ouvrage, E. Mannier ne précisant pas de façon formelle l'origine templière de Brumetz, nous considèrerons donc que l'Ordre de l'Hopital est à l'origine de la création de cette maison.

E. Mannier précise encore que : "La ferme se trouvait devant le cimetière du village, le long du chemin de Gandelu.
Ce domaine où le Commandeur avait toute justice, haute, moyenne et basse, s'était formé à l'aide de plusieurs acquisitions faites par les Hospitaliers dans le cours du 14e siècle, des religieux du prieuré de la Sainte-Trinité(1), résidants à Cerfroid, dépendance de Brumetz. Ce prieuré avait reçu la plus grande partie de ses biens et revenus, de Gauthier de Châtillon(2), comte de Portien et connétable de France. Ce seigneur leur avait donné, en 1310, des terres dans sa seigneurie de Brumetz et des droits d'usage dans les bois de Cerfroid, Gandelu et Passy. Il avait en outre amorti(3) tout ce que le prieuré possédait dans la châtellenie de Gandelu, à la charge de faire dire pour lui deux messes du Saint­ Esprit chaque année, aussi longtemps qu'il vivrait, et après sa mort, deux messes de "Requiem".
Le revenu de Brumetz était, en 1757, de 1000 livres, et en 1783, de 1700 livres."

A son apogée, le domaine de Brumetz était constitué d'une grande ferme et de plus de 150 arpents(4) de terres.

Notes :

(1)L'Ordre de la Très Sainte Trinité et des captifs, dit ordre des Trinitaires, est un ordre religieux catholique fondé vers 1194 à Cerfroid par Saint Jean de Matha et Saint Félix de Valois, pour racheter les chrétiens captifs des Maures.

(2)Gaucher V de Châtillon, né vers 1249 à Châtillon-sur-Marne et mort en 1329. Il est inhumé en l'abbaye de Pont-aux-Dames, à Couilly-Pont-aux-Dames. Il est le fils de Gaucher IV de Châtillon et d'Isabelle de Villehardouin. Il est seigneur de Châtillon, comte de Porcien ; il est nommé connétable de Champagne en 1284 par le roi Philippe III, puis nommé connétable de France par le roi Philippe IV "le Bel".

(3)Éteindre définitivement les droits et obligations attachés à un bien en permettant qu'il devienne propriété de gens de mainmorte, en échange d'un dédommagement ou à titre gracieux.

(4)En fonction des régions, un arpent valait plus ou moins 50 ares.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017