The preceptory of Bucy-le-Roy

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available
France, département du Loiret

France, Department of Loiret (45), around 20 km north of Orléans

The house of the Temple of Bucy is located in the parish of Artenay and is sometimes cited as the house of Artenay.
This house was part of the preceptory of Saint-Marc of Orleans.

It was probably founded at the beginning of the 13th century, because letters dated back to January 1235 from the archdeacon of Orleans, indicate that the knight Guillaume de Bernode, his wife and his mother, relinquished(1) the fief they owned in Bucy. This fief was part of a hundred acres(2) bequeathed previously to the House of the Temple of Orleans by the late Roger of Herblay. In February of the same year, the knight Guillaume Moinehart granted the same kind of relinquishment for the same estate, as well as four arpents of wood located in Hérici, part of his fief of Moinehart.

Bucy le Roy sur la carte de Cassini
Bucy-le-Roy on the Cassini's Map
Source : www.cartocassini.org

After the transfer of the properties of the Order of the Temple to the Order of the Hospital in 1312, the estate of Bucy undoubtedly suffered great damage, because Pierre du Poule(3), Preceptor of Saint-Marc of Orleans, granted a lease of 50 years to the squire Philippe des Chastellier for: "a place where there was a hostel, called the Temple of Bucy-Leroy, with all the lands belonging to it, situated in the parish of Arthenay , in Beauce ", for an annual fee of two almuds(4) of grain, and with the burden of rebuilding the house as it was before the wars.

This house in Bucy was burnt and destroyed several times. So much so that in the 17th century the Order of the Hospital (of Malta at that time) decided not to rebuild it. The lands will be united to the domain of the preceptory of Orleans.

The house of Bucy had an outbuilding in the hamlet of Chaumont, in the neighbouring parish of Trinay.
The most ancient title that makes mention of it, is an act dated back to February 12th,1460, by which Jean of Alzy, preceptor of Saint-Marc of Orleans, grants an emphyteusis lease to one named Jean Carré and his son, "A ruined and fallow farmstead, called Chaumont, located in the parish of Trinay, with fourteen almuds of arable land in three parts, at the crossroads of the road to Maisières and the road to Genneville, averaging a rent of 48 ‘sols parisis’, but with a commitment to rebuild within twelve years the house and farm buildings".
The farm having been burned towards the middle of the 17th century, the land will be joined to the domain of the preceptory of Orleans.

Notes :

(1)Permanently relinquish the rights and obligations attached to a property by allowing it to become the property of ‘mainmorte’ people in return for compensation or without charge.

(2)Depending on the region, one arpent was more or less 50 ares.

(3)Pierre du Poule is mentioned as preceptor of Saint Marc of Orléans in charters dated from the years 1395-1400.

(4)The almud is an old measure of volume, variable value according to the times, regions, and the nature of the measured goods. For dry materials (oat, salt, ...), an almud worth between 1.8 and 4 m3. For liquids (wine, ...), it was between 130 and 700 litres depending on the period or the region.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliography
  1. "Les Sites Templiers en France"
    Jean Luc Aubarbier et Michel Binet ; Éditions Ouest-France, 1997
  2. "Les Ordres Religieux et Militaires en Orléanais"
    Philippe Jourdain ; Editions Jean-Michel Garnier, 1995
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

La maison templière de Bucy-le-Roy

Pas de galerie photo disponible
France, département du Loiret

France, département du Loiret (45), à environ 20 km au nord d'Orléans

La maison du Temple de Bucy est située dans la paroisse d’Artenay et est parfois citée comme la maison d'Artenay.
Cette maison faisait partie de la commanderie Saint-Marc d’Orléans.

Elle a sans doute été fondée au début du 13e siècle, car des lettres datées de janvier 1235, de l’archidiacre d’Orléans, nous montrent que le chevalier Guillaume de Bernode, sa femme et sa mère ont amorti(1) le fief qu’ils possédaient à Bucy. Ce fief faisait partie de cent arpents(2) légués précédemment à la Maison du Temple d’Orléans par feu Roger d’Herblay. Au mois de février de la même année, le chevalier Guillaume Moinehart accorde le même genre d'amortissement pour le même domaine, ainsi que quatre arpents de bois situés à Hérici, partie de son fief de Moinehart.

Bucy le Roy sur la carte de Cassini
Bucy-le-Roy sur la carte de Cassini
Source : www.cartocassini.org

Après le transfert des biens de l'Ordre du Temple à l'Ordre de l'Hopital en 1312, le domaine de Bucy a sans doute subi d'importants dégâts car Pierre du Poule(3), commandeur de Saint Marc d'Orléans, accorde un bail de 50 ans à l'écuyer Philippe des Chastellier :"d'une place où souloit(4) avoir un hostel, appelé le Temple de Bucy-Leroy, avec toutes les terres y appartenant, sis en la paroisse d'Arthenay, en Beauce", moyennant une redevance annuelle de deux muids(5) de grain, et à la charge de rebâtir la maison comme elle était avant les guerres.

Cette maison de Bucy a été plusieurs fois incendiée et détruite. A tel point, qu'au 17e siècle, l'Ordre de l'Hopital (de Malte à cette époque) va décider de ne plus la reconstruire. Les terres seront réunies au domaine de la commanderie d'Orléans.

La maison de Bucy avait une dépendance au hameau de Chaumont, dans la paroisse voisine de Trinay.
Le plus ancien titre qui en fasse mention est un acte du 12 février 1460, par lequel Jean d'Alzy, commandeur de Saint Marc d'Orléans, accorde à bail emphythéotique à un nommé Jean Carré et à son fils, "une mesterie en ruyne et friche, appelée Chaumont, assise en la paroisse de Trinay, avec quatorze muis de terre labourable en 3 pièces, au chemin de Maisières et à celui de Genneville, moyennant une rente de 48 sols parisis, mais à la charge de reconstruire en dedans douze ans, la maison et les bâtiments d'exploitations".
La ferme ayant été brûlée vers le milieu du 17e siècle, les terre seront réunies au domaine de la commanderie d'Orléans.

Notes :

(1)Éteindre définitivement les droits et obligations attachés à un bien en permettant qu'il devienne propriété de gens de mainmorte, en échange d'un dédommagement ou à titre gracieux.

(2)En fonction des régions, un arpent valait plus ou moins 50 ares.

(3)Pierre du Poule est cité comme commandeur de Saint Marc d'Orléans dans des chartes datées de 1395 - 1400.

(4)Souloir : voir la définition sur le DMF (Dictionnaire du Moyen Français).

(5)Le muid est une ancienne mesure de capacité, de valeur variable suivant les époques, les régions, et la nature des marchandises mesurées. Pour les matières sèches (avoine, sel,...), un muid valait entre 1,8 et 4 m3. Pour des matières liquides (vin,...), il valait entre 130 et 700 litres en fonction des époques et des régions.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Les Sites Templiers en France"
    Jean Luc Aubarbier et Michel Binet ; Éditions Ouest-France, 1997
  2. "Les Ordres Religieux et Militaires en Orléanais"
    Philippe Jourdain ; Editions Jean-Michel Garnier, 1995
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017