The castle of Bytów

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

Le ch‚teau teutonique de Bytów
Diaporama at the bottom of the page
Pologne, Wojewůdztwo Pomorze

Poland, Pomerania Voivodeship, around 90 km west of Gdańsk and 55 km south-east of Słupsk, town of Bytów.

The first texts mentioning the existence of a village in Bytów date back to 1113 and are found in the chronicle of ďGallus AnonymusĒ(1). These texts mention the seizing of the "Castrum Bitom" by the army of the King of Poland Bolesław III Krzywousty who then integrated it to the Duchy of Pomerania. Around 1176, they built a church which was incorporated into the diocese of Kamień Pomorski. At the end of the 13th century, the entire region was incorporated into the German Brandeburg.

In 1321, texts mentioned its name as "BŁtow" when the Prince Warcisław IV(2) gave that territory and all its income to its Marshall, Henning von Behr(3). A few years later, in 1329, the son of Henning von Behr sold all its rights in the town and its income to the Teutonic Order, became new Master of Pomerania in the beginning of the 14th century, in exchange of a rent of 800 dinars.

In 1335, the Teutonic Order built a presbytery in the village which increased its importance. In 1346, the Great Master Heinrich Dusemer granted the charter of City to the town of BŁtow according to the Right of Kulm(4). At that period, Bytów was already the seat of a preceptory because its preceptor was named in documents as Albrecht von Leesten(5).

Le ch‚teau de Bytów
The castle of Bytów
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego

In 1390, the Teutonic Knights began the building of a castle, probably onto the site of the ancient gród(6) conquered by Bolesław III Krzywousty, on a hill located south-east of the city. These works were supervised by Nikolaus von Fellenstein(7), one of the most famous architects of the Order, and finished in 1405.
From its creation, the castle was not only used by the Order as an administrative place for a preceptory, but still as military base for the survey of its border(8), and as hostelry for the knights coming from the West on their travel to Malbork.

The castle was built on a small headland surrounded by a small river on three sides.
It was based on a rectangular plan of roughly size of 49x70 meters.
As all the other Teutonic castles in the area, this one was also built with red bricks onto a stone base. Three corners are provided with round towers, while the fourth one is provided by the square dungeon.
On the north-west wing, they built a building with three floors and cellars. It was the most important building in the castle. It included the house of the preceptor, the canteen, the chapel and store places in the upper levels.
In the south-west wing were the kitchen with their outbuildings.
The main gate was located in the north-east wall. That gate was protected by a large ditch and a drawbridge.

In 1410, after the defeat of the Teutonic army at Grunwald, the castle was occupied by the Polish army, but was returned to the Order after the signature of the Treaty of Toruń(9).

During the 13 Years War(10), the castle was once again conquered by the Polish troops and in 1466, after the signature of the Second Treaty of Toruń(11), king of Poland Casimir IV(12) gave it to the Duke of Pomerania Eryk II(13).

In the beginning of the 16th century, the fortifications of the castle were improved for the use of artillery and earth bastions are erected around it.
During the 17th century, new buildings as a bakery and a brewery were added in the castle.

After the death of Bogusław XIV(14), last representative of the Gryffin Dynasty, the castle came back under Polish crown control and became the seat of town administration.

In 1656, during the long war between Poland and Sweden(15), the castle was largely destroyed. In accordance with the Treaty of Welawa and Bydgoszcz(16) signed in 1657, the whole region of Bytów and Lębork were given up to the Elector of Brandeburg Frederic-William I(17).

During the 19th century, the castle was converted into a court and a prison.
A first restoration of the whole building was made in the years 1930-1939.
In the end, the castle was completely rebuilt in two steps, between 1957-1962 and 1969-1990. Now, it is occupied by a hotel, a restaurant, a library and the rural museum of Western Kashubia.

Notes :

(1)The Gallus Anonymus is a medieval chronicler, the first to write a chronicle of the history of Poland (Cronicae and gesta ducum sive principum Polonorum). He would have lived in Poland at the time of the reign of Bolesław III Krzywousty, at the end of the 11th - beginning of the 12th century. His work is incomplete and ends abruptly in the year 1113, perhaps because of his death.

(2)Warcisław IV of Pomerania was born in 1290 and died on August 1st 1326 in Stralsund. He was the Duke of Pomerania from 1309 to 1326. He was the son of Bogusław IV of Pomerania and Margaret of RŁgen.

(3)Important family belonging to the Germanic nobility and originating from Lower Saxony. A branch of this family settled in Pomerania during the 13th century.

(4)System of reciprocal privileges granted by the Teutonic Order to certain towns situated in the eastern lands. It was shaped by a charter of December 28th, 1233, established in Chelmno (Kulm) under the direction of Grand Master Herman von Salza. It is inspired in part by the law of Magdeburg with regards to the legal system and the law of Flanders with regards to the system of the law of succession.

(5)Mentioned in 1342. His successor will be a certain Nikolaus von Frantzen, mentioned him in 1354.

(6)A grůd is a fortification made of wood and of clay, often a small village or hamlet of some houses surrounded by a boarding, with or without keep or watch tower.

(7)He also worked on the expansion and development of the fortress of Malbork.

(8)Bytów is located along the border between the territories of the Order and the Principality of Słupsk.

(9)It is the first Toruń peace treaty signed on 01st February 1411 between the Polish-Lithuanian Union and the Teutonic Order, ending a two-year war between 1409 and 1411. Following this peace agreement, the Teutonic Order renounces its claims on the Lithuanian province of Samogitia for the duration of the reign of the King of Poland Władysław II Jagiełło and the Grand Duke of Lithuania Vitold the Great. Poland obtains the territory of Dobrzyń and its ally of Mazovia obtains the territory of Wkra. On the other hand, Pomerelia and the Prussian possessions taken by the King of Poland in the summer of 1410, after the battle of Grunwald, were returned to the Order.

(10)It is the 13 Years War, a new war between the Teutonic Order and the Kingdom of Poland from 1454 to 1466. It ended with the victory of Poland and the 2nd Treaty of Toruń signed by both belligerents in 1466.

(11)The second Treaty of Toruń confirmed the victory of King Casimir IV Jagiełło over the Teutonic Knights. It was concluded at the beginning of October 1466 and ended the Thirteen Years' War. Following this treaty, the Teutonic Order surrendered to the kingdom of Poland eastern Pomerania, the territories of the commanders of Elbląg (Elbing), Malbork (Marienburg) and Chełmno (Kulm). The rest of Prussia, still belonging to the Order, would have to recognize the Polish suzerainty.

(12)Casimir IV Jagiełło, born on November 30th 1427, Grand Duke of Lithuania in 1440, King of Poland in 1447, died on 7 June 1492.

(13)Eryk II of Pomerania, a member of the family of the Greifen (or Gryfici) - a name derived from the Griffon on the coat of arms of this family - was born around 1420. He is the son of Warcisław IX of Pomerania and Sophia of Saxe-Lauenburg . He inherited the Duchy of Wolgast in 1457 and Pomerania in 1464. He died in 1474.

(14)Bogusław XIV was the last Duke of Pomerania. He was the son of Bogusław XIII of Pomerania and his first wife Claire of Brunswick-LŁneburg. He was born on March31st 1580. He became Duke of all Pomerania in 1620. He died without children on 10 March 1637.

(15)This war is also known as the "Swedish Deluge" (Potop in Polish) or First Nordic War. It began in 1655 with the invasion of the west of the Republic of Poland-Lithuania by Sweden. The death of the King of Sweden Charles X Gustave on February 23, 1660 provoked the end of the war, and the signature of the treaty of peace of Oliwa the 23 of April of the same year.

(16)The treaties of Welawa (now Znamensk in the Kaliningrad Oblast in Russia) and Bydgoszcz are two treaties signed in 1657 between the King of Poland John II Casimir Vasa and Frederick William of Brandenburg, Duke of Prussia and Brandenburg. These two treaties endorse changes of suzerainty over certain territories in exchange for a military alliance between the Duchy of Prussia-Brandenburg and Poland against Sweden.

(17)Frederick William of Brandenburg, Duke of Brandenburg-Prussia, and Great Elector of Brandenburg. He was the eldest son of Georges-Wilhelm I of Brandenburg and Elizabeth-Charlotte of the Palatinate. He was born on February 19th 1620 in CŲlln and died on May 9th 1688 in Potsdam.

    


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

Le château de Bytów

Le château teutonique de Bytów
Diaporama en bas de page
Pologne, Województwo Pomorze

Pologne, Voïvodie de Poméranie, à environ 90 km à l'ouest de Gdańsk, 55 km au sud-est de Słupsk, ville de Bytów.

Les premiers textes mentionnant l'existence d'un village à Bytów datent de 1113 et sont repris dans la chronique du "Gallus Anonymus"(1). Ces textes mentionnent la prise du "castrum Bitom" par l'armée du roi de Pologne Bolesław III Krzywousty qui l'intègre à la principauté de Poméranie. Vers 1176, on y constuit une église qui est rattachée à l'évêché de Kamień Pomorski. A la fin du 13e siècle, cette région est rattachée au Brandebourg germanique.

En 1321, des textes mentionnent son nom comme "Bütow" lorsque le Prince Warcisław IV(2) donne ce territoire ainsi que tous ses revenus à son maréchal, Henning von Behr(3). Quelques années plus tard, en 1329, le fils de Henning von Behr cède ses droits sur la ville et ses revenus à l'Ordre Teutonique, devenu nouveau maître de Poméranie au début du 14e siècle, contre une rente de 800 dinars.

En 1335, l'Ordre Teutonique fait construire un presbytère dans le village qui gagne en importance. En 1346, le Grand Maître Heinrich Dusemer octroie la charte de ville à Bütow en vertu du droit de Kulm(4). A cette époque, Bytów est déjà le siège d'une commanderie teutonique, car son commandeur est un certain Albrecht von Leesten(5).

Le château de Bytów
Le château de Bytów
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego

En 1390, les Chevaliers Teutoniques commencent la construction d'un château, sans doute sur l'emplacement de l'ancien gród(6) conquis par Bolesław III Krzywousty sur une colline située au sud-est de la ville. Ces travaux sont supervisés par Nikolaus von Fellenstein(7), un des grands architectes de l'Ordre, et terminés vers 1405.
Dès sa création, le château a été non seulement utilisé par l'Ordre comme siège administratif d'une de ses commanderies, mais également comme base militaire pour la surveillance de sa frontière(8), et comme hostellerie pour les chevaliers occidentaux désirant rejoindre Malbork.

Le château est construit sur un petit promontoire entouré sur trois côtés par un petit cours d'eau.
Il suit un plan rectangulaire d'une dimension approximative de 49x70 m.
Comme tous les autres châteaux teutoniques de la région, celui-ci est aussi construit en briques rouges sur des soubassements de moraines. Trois angles sont munis de tours rondes, tandis que le quatrième est occupé par le donjon carré.
Dans l'aile nord-ouest, on a érigé un bâtiment de trois étages avec des caves. C'était le bâtiment le plus important du château. Il comprenait le logis du commandeur, le réfectoire, la chapelle et les entrepôts à l'étage supérieur.
Dans l'aile sud-ouest se trouvaient les cuisines avec leurs dépendances.
La porte principale se trouvait dans le mur nord-est. Cette porte était protégée par un large fossé et un pont-levis.

En 1410, après la défaite de l'armée teutonique à Grunwald, le château est occupé par l'armée polonaise, mais est restitué l'année suivante à l'Ordre Teutonique après la signature du traité de Toruń(9).

Pendant la guerre de 13 ans(10) le château est à nouveau conquis par les armées polonaises et en 1466, après la signature du Deuxième Traité de Toruń(11), le roi de Pologne Casimir IV(12) le donne en fief au duc de Poméranie, Eryk II(13).

Au début du 16e siècle, les fortifications du château sont aménagées pour l'usage de l'artillerie et des bastions en terre sont érigés tout autour.
Au 17e siècle de nouveaux bâtiments, tels une boulangerie et une brasserie sont aménagés dans le château.

Avec la mort en 1637 de Bogusław XIV(14), dernier représentant de la dynastie des Greifen (ou Gryfici), le château retourne dans le giron de la couronne polonaise qui en fera le siège de son administration pour la ville.

En 1656, au cours de la longue guerre entre la Pologne et la Suède(15), le château a été en grande partie détruit. En vertu des traités de Welawa et de Bydgoszcz(16) signés en 1657, toute la région de Bytów et de Lębork sont cédées à l'électeur de Brandebourg, Frédéric-Guillaume I(17).

Au 19e siècle, le château est converti en tribunal et en prison.
Une première restauration de l'ensemble a été réalisée dans les années 1930-1939.
Finalement, le château a été reconstruit par étapes entre 1957-1962 et 1969-1990. Actuellement, il est occupé par un hôtel, un restaurant, une bibliothèque et le musée rural de Cachoubie Occidentale.

Notes :

(1)Le Gallus Anonymus est un chroniqueur médiéval, le premier à avoir écrit une chronique de l’histoire de la Pologne (Cronicae et gesta ducum sive principum Polonorum). Il aurait vécu en Pologne à l'époque du règne de Bolesław III Krzywousty, à la fin du 11e - début du 12eiècle. Son oeuvre est incomplète et se termine brutalement à l'année 1113, peut-être à cause de son décès.

(2)Warcisław IV de Poméranie est né en 1290 et est mort le 1er août 1326 à Stralsund. Il est duc de Poméranie de 1309 à 1326. Il est le fils de Bogusław IV de Poméranie et de Marguerite de Rügen.

(3)Importante famille appartenant à la noblesse germanique et originaire de Basse-Saxe. Une branche de cette famille s'installe en Poméranie au cours du 13e siècle.

(4)Système de privilèges réciproques accordés par l'Ordre Teutonique à certaines villes situées dans les terres de l’est. Il est mis en forme par une charte du 28 décembre 1233 établie à Chełmno (Kulm) sous la direction du Grand Maître Herman von Salza. Il est inspiré en partie du droit de Magdebourg en ce qui concerne le système juridique et du droit des Flandres en ce qui concerne le système du droit de succession.

(5)Mentionné en 1342. Son successeur sera un certain Nikolaus von Frantzen, mentionné lui en 1354.

(6)Un gród est un ensemble de fortifié en terre et en bois, souvent un petit village de quelques maisons ceinturé d'une palissade, avec ou sans tour de guet.

(7)Il s'est aussi occupé de travaux d'agrandissement et d'aménagement de la forteresse de Malbork.

(8)Bytów est situé le long de la frontière entre les territoires de l'Ordre et la Principauté de Słupsk.

(9)Il s'agit du premier traité de paix de Toruń signé le 01 février 1411 entre l'Union de Pologne-Lituanie et l'Ordre Teutonique mettant fin à une guerre de deux ans, entre 1409 et 1411.Suite à cet accord de paix, l'Ordre Teutonique renonce à ses prétentions sur la province lituanienne de Samogitie pour la durée du règne du roi de Pologne Władysław II Jagiełło et du grand-duc de Lituanie Vitold le Grand. La Pologne obtient le territoire de Dobrzyń et son allié de Mazovie obtient le territoire de Wkra. En revanche, la Pomérélie et les possessions prussiennes prises par le roi de Pologne à l'été 1410, suite à la bataille de Grunwald, sont rendues à l'Ordre.

(10)Il s'agit de la guerre de 13 ans, une nouvelle guerre entre l'Ordre Teutonique et la Pologne de 1454 à 1466. Elle s'est achevée par la victoire de la Pologne et le 2e traité de Toruń signé par les deux parties en 1466.

(11)Le second traité de Toruń confirme la victoire du roi Casimir IV Jagiełło sur les chevaliers teutoniques. Il est conclu au début du mois d'octobre 1466 et met fin à la guerre de Treize Ans. Suite à ce traité, l'Ordre Teutonique cède au royaume de Pologne l'est de la Poméranie orientale, les territoires des commanderies de Elbląg (Elbing), de Malbork(Marienburg) et de Chełmno(Kulm). Le reste de la Prusse appartenant toujours à l'Ordre devra reconnaître la suzeraineté polonaise.

(12)Casimir IV Jagiełło, né le 30 novembre 1427, Grand Duc de Lituanie en 1440, roi de Pologne en 1447, mort le 7 juin 1492.

(13)Eryk II de Poméranie, membre de la famille des Greifen (ou Gryfici) - nom tiré du Griffon figurant sur le blason de cette famille -, est né vers 1420. Il est le fils de Warcisław IX de Poméranie et de Sophie de Saxe-Lauenbourg. Il hérite du Duché de Wolgast en 1457 et de la Poméranie en 1464. Il meurt en 1474.

(14)Bogusław XIV est le dernier duc de Poméranie. Il est le fils de Bogusław XIII de Poméranie et de sa première épouse Claire de Brunswick-Lüneburg. Il nait le 31 mars 1580. Il devient duc de toute la Poméranie en 1620. Il meurt sans enfants le 10 mars 1637.

(15)Cette guerre est aussi connue comme le "Déluge Suédois" (Potop en polonais) ou Première Guerre du Nord. Elle débute en 1655 avec l'invasion de l'ouest de la République de Pologne-Lituanie par la Suède. La mort du roi de Suède Charles X Gustave le 23 février 1660 provoquera la fin de la guerre et la signature du traité de paix d'Oliwa le 23 avril de la même année.

(16)Les traités de Welawa (actuellement Znamensk dans l'Oblast de Kaliningrad en Russie) et de Bydgoszcz sont deux traités signés en 1657 entre le roi de Pologne Jean II Casimir Vasa et Frédéric-Guillaume 1erde Brandebourg, duc de Prusse et de Brandebourg. Ces deux traités entérinent des changements de suzeraineté sur certains territoires en échange d'une alliance militaire entre le duché de Prusse-Brandebourg et la Pologne contre la Suède.

(17)Frédéric-Guillaume de Brandebourg, duc de Brandebourg-Prusse et Grand Électeur de Brandebourg. Il est le fils aîné de Georges-Guillaume Ier de Brandebourg et d'Élisabeth-Charlotte du Palatinat. Il est né le 16 février 1620 à Cölln et mort le 9 mai 1688 à Potsdam.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017