The preceptory of Chojnice

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

Pologne, Województwo Pomorze

Poland, Pomerania Voivodeship, around 60 km south of Bytów, city of Chojnice.

Reconstitution de la cité médiévale de Chojnice
The medieval city of Chojnice
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego
A: Lake "Zielone" ; B: Lake "Jeleńcz" ; C: The moat
1: The "Mill" Gate ; 2: The wall and its 22 towers ; 3: The "Teutonic" Gate ; 4: The city hall ; 5: The Gate of Gdańsk; 6: The Gate of Czluchów, the Main Gate; 7: The Parish Church ; 8: The Teutonic preceptory.

The date of creation of Chojnice is not known, but archaeological excavations conducted a few years ago near the parish church, have revealed the foundations of a fortified house - or a castle - that could be dated from the 11th or early 12th century.
It is also known that the first dukes of Pomerelia(1) (or Pomerania of Gdańsk) arrived in the region in the first half of the 12th century, which could correspond with the dating of the excavations.

The first document which mentions Chojnice is dated from 1275. It is a letter written by Duke Mściwój(2) addressed to the Augustine convent located in the village of Swornegacie(3), in which is mentioned the name of "Mislibous Malowy of Choyniz" as an inhabitant of Chojnice.

After the conquest of Pomerelia(4) by the Teutonic Order in 1308, the whole region gradually fell under their control, and it was the same for Chojnice which fully fell under their control in the first months of 1309.

From that moment, expansion, development and protection works were carried out by the Order. Thus the Order will, first, build a fortified house near the banks of Lake Zielone, probably on the location of the old fortification or gród(5). This house will be directly attached administratively to the fortress of Człuchów, around fifteen kilometers to the west.

Then, the Order will start fortifications of the city by surrounding it with an imposing wall flanked by more than twenty towers and three large fortified gates, the largest of which is called the Gate of "Człuchów".

Chojnice - La porte de Czluchów
Chojnice - The Gate of Czluchów
Source : Wikimédia Commons

In 1346, Chojnice received a charter of privilege that gave it the status of a city in its own right. This date is disputed, however, because it seems that there is an earlier document, dating from the early 14th century, mentioning a certain Reynard as mayor and two brothers, Frick and Jan Saxo, as citizens of the city. According to this document, it seems that the city could have been founded several years before by Przemysł II, the successor of Mściwój II and future king of Poland.

Placed under the aegis of a governor dependent of Człuchów, the city continued to develop itself throughout the 14th and 15th centuries. At the end of the 14th, the governor organized a company of crossbowmen among the inhabitants of the city to ensure its protection. In the 15th century, we see the emergence of guilds, such as bakers, butchers, shoemakers, weavers, blacksmiths, ...

The development of the city also came from its location on the "Via Marchonis", the main route that connected the territories of the Order to Brandeburg and the rest of Europe. Chojnice was the first Teutonic city that the Western European Crusaders reached on the way to Malbork and Königsberg, to take part in the fighting against Lithuanians and other peoples of the East.

This development will end in the early 15th century, when tensions with the kingdom of Poland will reach their peak. At that time Chojnice will become a military base of the Order, from which military expeditions to the regions of Greater Poland and Krajna(6) will begin.

After the defeat of the Order in Grunwald in 1410, the city feld to the Polish army, but in 1411, when the Treaty of Toruń(7) was signed, it was returned to the Order. In 1433, a Hussite army(8) besieged the city, seized and devastated it.

In 1440, the notables of the city formally asked to be part of "The League of Prussia"(9), but in 1446, they renounced to be part of this league. In 1454, one of the first battles of the "Thirteen Years War"(10) unfold under its walls and sees the victory of the Teutonic Order against a Polish army. In 1466, at the end of this war, the city is again besieged and taken definitively by the Polish army.

Notes :

(1)The first Pomeralian (or Pomeranian of Gdańsk) dukes are originated from the dynasty created by Sobiesław 1st Gdański, the first Duke mentioned in the archives, born around 1130 and died around 1177. According to the texts, Sobiesław was a Palatine Count in the court of King Bolesław III Krzywousty (Torn Mouth) and reportedly received this area as a reward for services to the Royal Piast Dynasty. On the death of Sobiesław, his son Sambor 1st Gdański succeeded him and perpetuated the dynasty which was then to be known as "Samborides".

(2)Mściwój II (Mszczuj, Mściwoj, Mściwuj or Mestwin) was Duke of Pomerelia from 1270 until his death in 1294. He was the son of Duke Świętopełk II Wielki (Great) and Eufrozyna Odonic. In 1275, he married Eufrozyna Opolska (Opole). He died in Gdańsk on December 25, 1294.

(3)The name of this village is mentioned for the first time in 1272 in a letter that Pope Gregory X sends to Friedrich von Hausen, the Teutonic Bishop of Chełmno, about the installation of these Augustinians in the village.

(4)At the beginning of the 14th century, Poland began reunification under the aegis of future king Władysław IV Łokietek. The death of Mściwój II, Duke of Pomerelia, at the end of the previous century did not help the future king in his plans. In 1308, Władysław IV Łokietek, who was busy establishing peace in the south of the country, sent Bogusza as royal governor for Pomerelia in Gdańsk. At the beginning of July of the same year, a revolt of the inhabitants of the city, led by the powerful family of Święca (Święca was voivode -governor- of Pomerelia) with the help of the troops of Henry 1st, Margrave of Brandenburg, forced Bogusza and his troops loyal to the king, to take refuge in the castle.
Following the advice of his Dominican prior, Bogusza resolved to seek help from the Teutonic Order to help him to quell the revolt and drive the troops out of Brandenburg. In the middle of autumn, a troop of 100 Teutonic Knights and more than 200 men-at-arms arrived at the castle to help Bogusza. On November 13th, this Teutonic troupe broke into the city, where the great fair of Saint Dominic took place, and exterminated everything in its path. If the German chroniclers of the time speak of a few hundred deaths, the Polish chroniclers speak of more than 10,000 dead. This destruction of the city will be the beginning of the installation of Teutonic power in this Duchy and will also be one of the facts that will lead to the open conflict between Poland and the Order and the famous Battle of Grunwald in 1410.

(5)A gród is a fortification made of wood and of clay, often a small village or hamlet of some houses surrounded by a boarding, with or without keep or watch tower.

(6)Krajna was a historic region of Poland situated at the intersection of modern regions of West Pomerania, Pomerania (Gdansk), Greater Poland and Kuyavian-Pomeranian, southwest of Chojnice.

(7)It is the first Toruń peace treaty signed on 01st February 1411 between the Polish-Lithuanian Union and the Teutonic Order, ending a two-year war between 1409 and 1411. Following this peace agreement, the Teutonic Order renounced its claims on the Lithuanian province of Samogitia for the duration of the reign of the King of Poland Władysław II Jagiełło and the Grand Duke of Lithuania Vitold the Great. Poland obtained the territory of Dobrzyń and its ally of Mazovia obtained the territory of Wkra. On the other hand, Pomerelia and the Prussian possessions taken by the King of Poland in the summer of 1410, after the battle of Grunwald, were returned to the Order.

(8)Hussites were followers of a religious movement founded by Jean Hus, a Czech preacher of the early 15st century. A follower of John Wycliff's thought, he preached a return to an apostolic, spiritual and poor church. He maintained that the reform of the Church must pass through the secular power, which found a favorable echo in the nobility, which saw the opportunity to appropriate ecclesiastical property. John Hus was excommunicated in 1411, but wanted to go to the Council of Constance in 1414 to defend his opinions. He would be arrested, sentenced and burned on July 6, 1415.
His execution will provoke an enormous uprising of the nobility and the Czech people, as well as in the neighboring regions against the authority of the pope and against that of Sigismund of Luxembourg, king of Bohemia and future German emperor, faithful to the pope. Between 1419 and 1436, five crusades against this reforming movement ensued, which set part of current Poland and the Czech Republic on fire.

(9)The League of Prussia, also known as "League Against Violence", is an agreement between 53 lords and 19 cities of Prussia on March 14, 1440 in Marienwerder (Kwidzyn) that wanted to free themselves from the tyrannical authority of the Teutonic Knights. In 1454, these towns and lordships declared war on the Teutonic Order and placed themselves under the protection of King Casimir IV of Poland. The ensuing war will be known as the "Thirteen Years War".

(10)It is the Thirteen Years War, a new war between the Teutonic Order and the Kingdom of Poland from 1454 to 1466. It ended with the victory of Poland and the 2nd Treaty of Toruń signed by both belligerents in 1466.

    


Bibliography
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2019

La commanderie de Chojnice

Pologne, Województwo Pomorze

Pologne, Voïvodie de Poméranie, à environ 60 km au sud de Bytów, ville de Chojnice.

Reconstitution de la cité médiévale de Chojnice
La ville médiévale de Chojnice
Source : Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego
A: Le lac "Zielone" ; B: Le lac "Jeleńcz" ; C: Le fossé
1: La Porte du "Moulin" ; 2: La muraille garnie de 22 tours ; 3: La porte "Teutonique" ; 4: L'Hôtel de ville ; 5: La porte de Gdańsk; 6: La porte de Czluchów, porte principale; 7: L'église paroissiale; 8: La commanderie teutonique.

On ne connaît pas exactement la date de création de Chojnice, mais des fouilles archéologiques menées il y a quelques années à proximité de l'église paroissiale, ont permis de découvrir les fondations d'une maison forte - ou d'un château - qui pourraient être datées du 11ème ou du début du 12ème siècle.
On sait aussi que les premiers ducs de Pomérélie(1) (ou Poméranie de Gdańsk) sont arrivés dans la région dans la première moitié du 12ème siècle, ce qui pourrait correspondre avec la datation des fouilles.

Le premier document qui mentionne Chojnice est daté de 1275. Il s'agit d'une lettre rédigée par le duc Mściwój II(2) adressé au couvent des Augustiniens situé dans le village de Swornegacie(3), dans lequel est mentionné le nom de "Mislibous Malowy de Choyniz" comme habitant de Chojnice.

Après la conquête de la Pomérélie(4) par l'Ordre Teutonique en 1308, toute la région tombe peu à peu sous leur contrôle, et il en est de même pour Chojnice qui tombe pleinement sous leur coupe dans les premiers mois de 1309.

Dès ce moment, des travaux d'agrandissement, de développement et de protection sont diligentés par l'Ordre. C'est ainsi qu'il va, dans un premier temps, faire construire une maison fortifiée près des berges du lac "Zielone", à l'emplacement sans doute d'une ancienne petite fortification, voire d'un gród(5). Cette maison sera directement rattachée administrativement à la forteresse de Człuchów, distante d'une quinzaine de kilomètres à l'ouest.

Ensuite, l'Ordre va entamer des travaux de fortifications de la ville en l'entourant d'un imposant mur d'enceinte flanqué d'une vingtaine de tours et de trois grandes portes fortifiées, dont la plus imposante est la "porte de Człuchów".

Chojnice - La porte de Czluchów
Chojnice - La porte de Czluchów
Source : Wikimédia Commons

En 1346, Chojnice reçoit une charte de privilège qui lui octoie un statut de ville à part entière. Cette date est cependant contestée, car il semblerait qu'il existe un document antérieur, daté du début du 14ème siècle, mentionnant un certain Reynard comme bourgmestre ainsi que deux frères, Frick et Jan Saxo, comme citoyens de la cité. D'après ce document, il semblerait alors que la ville ait pu être fondée plusieurs années auparavant par Przemysł II, le successeur de Mściwój II et futur roi de Pologne.

Placée sous l'égide d'un gouverneur dépendant de Człuchów, la ville va continuer de se développer tout au long des 14ème et 15ème siècles. A la fin du 14ème, le gouverneur organise une compagnie d'arbalétriers parmi les habitants de la ville pour en assurer la protection. Au 15ème siècle, on voit l'émergence de guildes, comme celles des boulangers, bouchers, cordonniers, tisserands, forgerons,...

Le développement de la ville vient aussi de son emplacement sur la "Via Marchonis", la voie qui relie les territoires de l'Ordre au Brandeburg et au reste de l'Europe. Chojnice était la première ville teutonique que les croisés d'Europe de l'ouest atteignaient sur le chemin de Malbork et de Königsberg, pour participer aux combats contre les Lituaniens et les autres peuplades de l'est.

Ce développement prendra fin au début du 15ème siècle, lorsque les tensions avec le royaume de Pologne arriveront à leur comble. A ce moment, Chojnice deviendra une base militaire de l'Ordre, d'où partiront des expéditions militaires vers les régions de Grande Pologne et de Krajna(6).

Après la défaite de l'Ordre à Grunwald en 1410, la ville tombe aux mains de l'armée polonaise, mais en 1411, à la signature du traité de Toruń(7), elle est rendue à l'Ordre. En 1433, c'est une armée hussite(8) qui assiège la ville, s'en empare et la dévaste.

En 1440, les notables de la ville demandent officiellement à faire partie de "La Ligue de Prusse"(9), mais en 1446, ils renoncent à faire partie de cette ligue. En 1454, une des premières batailles de la "Guerre de Treize Ans"(10) se déroule sous ses murs et voit la victoire de l'Ordre Teutonique contre une armée polonaise. En 1466,à la fin de cette "Guerre de Treize Ans", la cité est à nouveau assiégée et prise définitivement par l'armée polonaise.

Notes :

(1)Les premiers ducs de Pomérélie (ou Poméranie de Gdańsk), sont issus de la dynastie créée par Sobiesław 1er Gdański, premier duc cité dans les archives, né vers 1130 et mort vers 1177. D'après les textes, Sobiesław était un comte palatin à la cour du roi Bolesław III Krzywousty (Bouche-torse) et aurait reçu cette région en récompense des services rendus à la dynastie royale des Piast. A la mort de Sobiesław, c'est son fils Sambor 1er Gdański qui lui succède et perpétue la dynastie qui sera alors connue par la suite sous le nom de "Samborides".

(2)Mściwój II (Mszczuj, Mściwoj, Mściwuj ou encore Mestwin) est duc de Pomérélie de 1270 à sa mort en 1294. Il est le fils du duc Świętopełk II Wielki (le Grand) et d'Eufrozyna Odonic. En 1275, il se marie avec Eufrozyna Opolska (d'Opole). Il meurt à Gdańsk le 25 décembre 1294.

(3)Le nom de ce village est mentionné pour la première fois en 1272 dans une lettre que le pape Grégoire X envoie à Friedrich von Hausen, évêque teutonique de Chełmno à propos de l'installation de ces Augustiniens dans le village.

(4)Au début du 14e siècle, la Pologne commence sa réunification sous l'égide du futur roi Władysław IV Łokietek. La mort de Mściwój II, duc de Pomérélie, à la fin du siècle précédent n'a en rien aidé le futur roi dans ses projets. En 1308, Władysław IV Łokietek, occupé à instaurer la paix au sud du pays, envoie un certain Bogusza comme gouverneur royal de Pomérélie à Gdańsk. Au début du mois de juillet de la même année, une révolte des habitants de la cité, menée par la puissante famille des Święca (Święca était voïvode -ou gouverneur- de la Pomérélie) avec l'aide des troupes d'Henry 1er, Margrave de Brandebourg, oblige Bogusza et ses troupes loyales au roi, à se réfugier dans le château.
Suite à l'avis de son prieur dominicain, Bogusza se résoud à demander de l'aide à l'Ordre Teutonique pour l'aider à mater la révolte et chasser les troupes du Brandenbourg. Au milieu de l'automne, une troupe de 100 chevaliers teutoniques et de plus de 200 hommes d'armes, arrive au château pour aider Bogusza. Le 13 novembre, cette troupe teutonique déferle dans la ville et extermine tout sur son passage. Si les chroniqueurs germaniques de l'époque parlent de quelques centaines de morts, les chroniqueurs polonais parlent eux de plus de 10000 morts.
Cet anéantissement de la ville sera le début de l'installation du pouvoir teutonique dans ce duché et sera aussi un des faits qui amènera au conflit ouvert entre la Pologne et l'Ordre et à la fameuse bataille de Grunwald en 1410.

(5)Un gród est un ensemble de fortifié en terre et en bois, souvent un petit village de quelques maisons ceinturé d'une palissade, avec ou sans tour de guet.

(6)La Krajna était une région historique de Pologne située à l'intersection des régions modernes de Poméranie Occidentale, Poméranie (de Gdańsk), Grande Pologne et Cujavie-Poméranie, au sud-ouest de Chojnice.

(7)Il s'agit du premier traité de paix de Toruń signé le 01 février 1411 entre l'Union de Pologne-Lituanie et l'Ordre Teutonique mettant fin à une guerre de deux ans, entre 1409 et 1411. Suite à cet accord de paix, l'Ordre Teutonique renonce à ses prétentions sur la province lituanienne de Samogitie pour la durée du règne du roi de Pologne Władysław II Jagiełło et du grand-duc de Lituanie Vitold le Grand. La Pologne obtient le territoire de Dobrzyń et son allié de Mazovie obtient le territoire de Wkra. En revanche, la Pomérélie et les possessions prussiennes prises par le roi de Pologne à l'été 1410, suite à la bataille de Grunwald, sont rendues à l'Ordre.

(8)Les hussites sont les adeptes d'un mouvement religieux fondé par Jean Hus, un prédicateur tchèque du début du 15e siècle. Adepte de la pensée de John Wycliff, il prêche le retour à une Église apostolique, spirituelle et pauvre. Il soutient que la réforme de l'Église doit passer par le pouvoir laïc, propos qui trouvent un écho favorable dans la noblesse, qui y voit l'occasion de s'approprier les biens ecclésiastiques. Jean Hus est excommunié en 1411, mais veut se rendre en 1414 au concile de Constance pour y défendre ses opinions. Il y sera arrêté, condamné et conduit au bûcher le 06 juillet 1415.
Son exécution va provoquer un énorme soulèvement de la noblesse et du peuple tchèque, ainsi que dans les régions avoisinante contre l'autorité du pape et contre celle de Sigismond de Luxembourg, roi de Bohême et futur empereur germanique, fidèle au pape. Il va s'ensuivre, entre 1419 et 1436, cinq croisades contre ce mouvement réformateur, qui mettront à feu et à sang une partie de la Pologne et de la Tchéquie.

(9)La Ligue de Prusse, connue aussi comme "Ligue contre la violence", est un accord conclu entre 53 seigneurs et 19 villes de Prusse le 14 mars 1440 à Marienwerder (Kwidzyn) qui voulaient s'affranchir de l'autorité tyrannique des chevaliers teutoniques. En 1454, ces villes et seigneuries déclarent la guerre à l'Ordre Teutonique et se mettent sou sla protection du roi de Pologne Casimir IV. La guerre qui s'en suivra sera connue comme "Guerre de Treize Ans".

(10)Il s'agit de la guerre de 13 ans, une nouvelle guerre entre l'Ordre Teutonique et la Pologne de 1454 à 1466. Elle s'est achevée par la victoire de la Pologne et le 2e traité de Toruń signé par les deux parties en 1466.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Pomorza Gdańskiego"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 1997-2018