The Preceptory of Garway

Translation : Mark W. Chenoweth

    Pages list about this topic :
  1. Site presentation (current page)
  2. Pictures bank
Great Britain, West Midlands

Great Britain, England, West Midlands Region, 25km south of Hereford in the County of Herefordshire.

In 1180 Henry II, King of England, gave the Templars all the lands to the west of Llangrewi to the current border between England and Wales.
Once there, the Templars started to build a chapel on the site of an ancient Saxon church. This chapel was based on the style of the Church of St Sepulchre in Jerusalem, i.e. of a round external form with a crossed Choir.
The revenues from this Commandery contributed to the organisation of several military expeditions into the Holy Land. This Commandery was so important that Jacques de Molay, Grand Master of the Order, visited in 1294.
At the dissolution of the Order the Commandery of Garway was recovered by the Hospitallers, who incorporated it into their domain of Dinmore. Then, to a certain extent, they transformed the church and enlarged the pigeon loft that can still be seen a little further away. One peculiarity of this pigeon loft is that it comprises 666 pigeon holes…
The Hospitallers’ occupation was a period of heated disputes with the Bishop of Hereford from whom they claimed total independence. Matters came to a head in 1523 when the Hospitallers refused once again to pass on to the prelate the monies due to him and found themselves excommunicated.
To this day Garway remains a Sanctuary where criminals may take refuge and shelter before continuing on their flight. However, at the time of the dissolution of Monmouth Priory by the provosts of King Henry VIII in 1536 the last Prior, Richard Talybush, fled to the Sanctuary of Garway, but there he found no-one but the King’s men who had arrived before him and had already seized the whole domain of the Commandery.
At this time there was nothing left of the primitive round chapel, apart from its foundations, discovered in 1927 at the time of the excavations to the north of the "New Church". To the south, and forming part of the main church, is found what is known as the "Templar Chapel" which dates from before 1210 and which had served the Templars as a place to practise their initiations.
This chapel was partly reconstructed by the Tudors. At the western extremity of the church, staggered at an angle, and connected by a corridor, is a tower of 33 feet square and 70 feet high. This tower was used as a stronghold against the frontier attacks of the Welsh as well as a prison.
The nave has a splendid vaulted ceiling decorated with 24 six-pointed stars. There is a Norman arch between the nave and the choir, described as having a very sarrasine appearance. The roof of the choir dates from around 1400. Outside several edifices are engraved with crosses.

Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2019

La Chapelle de Garway

    Sommaire des pages sur ce thème :
  1. la présentation du site (page actuelle)
  2. la banque d'images
Grande Bretagne, West Midlands

Grande Bretagne, Angleterre, Région de West Midlands, dans le Herefordshire à 25 Km au sud de Hereford.

En 1180, le roi d'Angleterre Henry II donne aux Templiers des terres à Llangarewi, tout à l'ouest de son domaine, à côté de l'actuelle limite entre l'Angleterre et le Pays de Galles.
Une fois sur place, les Templiers commencent à bâtir une chapelle sur le site d'une ancienne église saxonne. Cette chapelle est construite selon le style de l'église du Saint Sépulcre à Jérusalem, c'est à dire une forme extérieure ronde avec un choeur carré.
Les revenus de cette commanderie ont contribué à l'organisation de plusieurs expéditions militaires en Terre Sainte. Cette commanderie était tellement importante, qu'elle en a reçu la visite du Maître de l'Ordre, Jacques de Molay en 1294.
A la dissolution de l'Ordre, la commanderie de Garway est récupérée par les Hospitaliers qui l'intègrent dans leur domaine de Dinmore. Ils transforment alors quelque peu l'église et agrandissent le pigeonnier que l'on peut toujours apercevoir un peu plus loin. Une particularité de ce pigeonnier, est qu'il comporte 666 trous pour les pigeons...
L'occupation hospitalière est une époque de chaudes disputes avec l'Evêque de Hereford de qui ils réclament une indépendance totale. Les choses culminent en 1523, quand les Hospitaliers refusent une fois de plus de verser au prélat les sommes qui lui sont dues et se retrouvent eux-mêmes excommuniés.
Garway gardera toujours la fonction de Sanctuaire, où les criminels peuvent se réfugier à l'abri avant de s'enfuir plus loin. Cependant, lors de la dissolution du Prieuré de Monmouth par les prévôts du roi Henry VIII en 1536, le dernier Prieur, Richard Talybush, s'enfuira vers le Sanctuaire de Garway, mais il n'y trouvera que les hommes du Roi qui y sont arrivés avant lui et qui se sont déjà emparés de tout le domaine de la commanderie.
A l'heure actuelle, il ne reste rien de la chapelle ronde primitive, à l'exception des restes des fondations de la chapelle ronde, découverts en 1927 lors de fouilles, au nord de la "Nouvelle Eglise".
Au sud et formant une partie de l'église principale, se trouve ce qu'on appelle "la Chapelle Templière" qui date d'avant 1210 et qui aurait servi aux Templiers pour pratiquer leurs initiations.
Cette chapelle a été en partie reconstruite par les Tudor. A l'extrémité ouest de l'église, décalée sous un angle particulier, et reliée par un couloir, se trouve une tour de 33 pieds carrés et de 70 pieds de hauteur. Cette tour était utilisée comme lieu sûr contre les attaques frontalières des Gallois et aussi comme prison.
La nef a un splendide plafond voûté décoré de 24 étoiles à 6 pointes. Entre la nef et le coeur, on peut voir une arche normande particulière, décrite comme d'apparence très sarrasine. Le toit du choeur est daté d'environ 1400. A l'extérieur, plusieurs pierres de l'édifice sont gravées de croix.

Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017