The castle of Lipienek

Contributor : Łukasz Rolbiecki - Zamki Zakonu Krzyzackiego - Historia, Archeologia
Translation : Andrew Zolnai

Château de Lipienek - © Łukasz Rolbiecki
Diaporama at the bottom of the page
Pologne, Województwo kujawsko-pomorskie

Poland, Kujawsko-Pomorskie Voivodship, about 30 km south of Grudziądz and 30 km north of Toruń, village of Lipienek.

As early as the 10th century, the Baltic tribe of the Yotvingians(1) occupied this region and had erected a gród(2) (2) on top of a small hill on the shores of a lake now called "Lake Kornatowo".

After the Battle of Durbe in 1260, all the Prussian tribes(3), as well as several Baltic tribes, including the Yotvingian tribe led by their chief Skomantas(4), rose up against the Teutonic Order. But for lack of unity, each tribe was defeated one by one and except for a few sporadic revolts later, this Great Prussian Uprising(5) ended around 1275.

The castle of Lipienek
Hypothetical reconstitution of the castle of Lipienek
Source : Zamki Zakonu Krzyzackiego - Historia, Zamki, Archeologia - © Bogusz Wasik

In the years following the end of this uprising, the Order continued to expand and took over several fortified gróds located on the western edge of the Yotvingian tribe's area of influence, including the one at Lipienek. The wooden fortifications of Lipienek did not resist the Teutonic attack for long and the place was conquered around 1277. All the inhabitants and defenders were killed or enslaved.

In the first quarter of the 14th century, the Teutonic Order decided to strengthen this place and began the construction of a stone and brick castle on the site of the old gród.

This castle consisted of two parts, the high castle, occupying the top of the hill and an outer bailey below. The castle was protected to the north by the lake and the other three sides by a moat about 20m wide and 5m deep, connected to the lake. A drawbridge gate in the eastern wall of the outer bailey provided access to the entire castle.

The high castle formed an almost perfect square, characteristic of many castles of the Order, with a side length of about 39 m. The inner courtyard was surrounded by a cloister on two levels, each of which gave access to the different rooms of the castle. In addition, it had a high tower in the north-east corner. The outer bailey was trapezoidal in shape, with the longest base on the eastern side, that one of the fortified gate. This outer bailey comprised several types of buildings including a barn, stables for oxen and horses, a forge, a brewery, etc. The surface area of the outer bailey was approximately double that of the castle, between 2,500 and 3,000 m2.

From the very beginning of its construction, the castle was elevated to the rank of the seat of the Preceptor of the Land of Chelmno, one of the dignitaries of the Order directly dependent on the Grand Master of Malbork.

In 1330, during the conflict between the Teutonic Order and the King of Poland Władysław IV Łokietek, the latter laid siege to the castle but failed to seize it. On 18 October of the same year, the king signed a ceasefire with the Order and withdrew from Lipienek, leaving the entire region ravaged by several months of siege. After the defeat of the Teutonic Order in Grunwald(6) in 1410, the castle fell into the hands of Polish troops, who abandoned it a few months later after having plundered it of all its treasures.
The following year, in 1411, the Order recovered the castle but left it in the hands of the civil power of the small town.

After the Thirteen Years' War(7), it returned once again to the hands of the King of Poland, who established the starosta of the region. During the long war between Poland and Sweden(8) in the 17th century, the castle was ravaged and practically destroyed.

In a state of complete ruin, there are still impressive fragments of the upper castle wall and of the outer bailey, as well as several vaulted cellars.

Notes :

(1)The Yotvingians (Jaćwingowie or Jaćwięgowie in Polish) are a tribe of the Baltic people who occupied the southernmost area of influence of that people, i.e. a region straddling the present-day countries of Poland, Lithuania and, to a lesser extent, Belarus. This area was located approximately between Bialystok (PL) in the south and Kaunas (LT) in the north. Follow this link on Wikipedia to get an overview of these Baltic and Prussian tribes.

(2)A gród is a fortification made of wood and of clay, often a small village or hamlet of some houses surrounded by a boarding, with or without keep or watch tower.

(3)This region, nowadays located on North-east of Poland (also called Borders or Marches in English) was occupied by several Old-Prussian and Baltic Tribes, among them the Pomeranians, Pomesanians, Warmians, Semigalians,... Follow this link on Wikipedia to have a glimpse of this tribes.

(4)Skomantas, or Komantas was a chief of the Baltic tribe of the Yotvingians. He was probably born around 1225 and died around 1285. He was mentioned for the first time by the chronicler of the Teutonic Order, Pierre of Duisbourg, for his participation in the Great Uprising of 1260. In 1263, he commanded the attack of the tribes against the castle of Chełmno. He is also considered to be the ancestor of the Gediminas dynasty, from which the King of Poland Wladyslaw II Jagiełło originated.

(5)This second insurrection began on 20 September 1260, the day after the defeat of the Teutonic Order against a coalition of Lithuanian and Samogitian tribes during the Battle of Durbe. This defeat of the Order provoked an uprising, which spread rapidly throughout the territory of the Old-Prussian tribes. The various castles of the Order were besieged, and the smallest ones began to fall into the hands of the Old-Prussians. Despite the arrival of numerous reinforcements from the German Empire and all of Europe, it was not until 1265 that the Teutonic Order began to defeat its enemies. It would be a few years before the various chiefs of tribes were defeated and hanged, during the winter of 1271-1272. In 1274, the Order attacked Lidzbark Warmiński, captured the last rebel leader and executed him, thus causing the end of the uprising.

(6)On 15 July 1410, the Teutonic Order was practically annihilated by a coalition army led by the King of Poland Jagiełło and his cousin Vytaudas, Grand Duke of Lithuania, on the Grunwald Plain (Tannenberg), about 90 km as the crow flies south-east of Malbork.

(7)It is the Thirteen Years War, a new war between the Teutonic Order and the Kingdom of Poland from 1454 to 1466. It ended with the victory of Poland and the 2nd Treaty of Toruń signed by both belligerents in 1466.

(8)This war is also known as the "Swedish Deluge" (Potop in Polish) or First Nordic War. It began in 1655 with the invasion of the west of the Republic of Poland-Lithuania by Sweden. The death of the King of Sweden Charles X Gustave on February 23, 1660 provoked the end of the war, and the signature of the treaty of peace of Oliwa the 23 of April of the same year.

    


Bibliography
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Od Malborka do Torunia"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress 2008
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2020

Le château de Lipienek

Contributeur : Łukasz Rolbiecki - Zamki Zakonu Krzyzackiego - Historia, Archeologia

Château de Lipienek - © Łukasz Rolbiecki
Diaporama en bas de page
Pologne, Województwo kujawsko-pomorskie

Pologne, Voïvodie de Cujavie-Poméranie, à environ 30 km au sud de Grudziądz et 30 km au nord de Toruń, village de Lipienek.

Dès le 10ème siècle, la tribu balte des Yotvingiens(1) occupait cette région et avait érigé un gród(2) au sommet d'une petite colline située sur les rives d'un lac actuellement appelé "Lac de Kornatowo".

Après la bataille de Durbe en 1260, l'ensemble des tribus Prusses(3), ainsi que plusieurs tribus Baltes dont celle des Yotvingiens commandée par leur chef Skomantas(4), se soulève contre l'Ordre Teutonique. Mais par manque d'unité, chaque tribu est défaite l'une après l'autre et hormis quelques révoltes sporadiques postérieures, ce Grand Soulèvement Prussien(5) prend fin vers 1275.

Le château de Lipienek
Reconstitution hypothétique du château de Lipienek
Source : Zamki Zakonu Krzyzackiego - Historia, Zamki, Archeologia - © Bogusz Wasik

Dans les années qui suivent la fin de ce soulèvement, l'Ordre continue son expansion et s'empare alors de plusieurs gróds fortifiés situés aux confins occidentaux de la zone d'influence de la tribu des Yotvingiens, dont celui de Lipienek. Les fortifications en bois de Lipienek ne résistent pas longtemps à l'assaut des Teutoniques et la place est conquise vers 1277. Tous les habitants et défenseurs sont tués ou réduits en esclavage.

Au cours du premier quart du 14ème siècle, l'Ordre Teutonique décide de renforcer cette place forte et débute la construction d'un château en pierres et en briques, à l'endroit de l'ancien gród.

Ce château était composé de deux parties, le château haut, occupant le sommet de la colline et une basse-cour en contrebas. Le château était protégé au nord par le lac et les trois autres côtés par une douve d'environ 20m de large et de 5m de profondeur, connectée au lac. Une porte à pont-levis située dans la muraille orientale de la basse-cour permettait l'accès à l'ensemble du château.

Le château haut formait un carré pratiquement parfait, caractéristique de nombreux châteaux de l'Ordre, d'environ 39 m de côté. La cour intérieure était ceinturée par un cloître sur deux niveaux, chacun de ceux-ci donnant accès aux différentes salles du château. En outre, il possédait une haute tour dans l'angle nord-est. La basse-cour était de forme trapézoïdale, avec la base la plus longue du côté est, celui de la porte fortifiée. Cette basse-cour comportait plusieurs types de bâtiments dont une grange, une étable, une écurie, une forge, une brasserie,… La surface de la basse-cour était d'environ le double de celle du château, entre 2500 et 3000 m².

Dès le début de sa construction, le château a été élevé au rang de siège du commandeur de la Terre de Chelmno, un des dignitaires de l'Ordre dépendant directement du Grand-maître de Malbork.

En 1330, lors du conflit entre l'Ordre Teutonique et le roi de Pologne Władysław IV Łokietek, ce dernier met le siège devant le château mais ne parvient pas à s'en emparer. Le 18 octobre de cette même année, le roi signe un cessez-le-feu avec l'Ordre et se retire de Lipienek, en laissant toute la région ravagée par plusieurs mois de siège. Après la défaite de l'Ordre Teutonique à Grunwald(6) en 1410, le château tombe entre les mains des troupes polonaises qui l'abandonnent quelques mois plus tard après l'avoir pillé de tous ses trésors. L'année suivante, en 1411, l'Ordre récupère le château mais le laisse aux mains du pouvoir civil de la petite ville.

Après la Guerre de 13 ans(7), il revient à nouveau entre les mains du roi de Pologne qui y établit le staroste de la région. Lors de la longue guerre entre la Pologne et la Suède(8) au 17ème siècle, le château est ravagé et pratiquement détruit.

A l'état de ruine complète, il reste des fragments impressionnants du mur d'enceinte du château-haut et de de la basse-cour, ainsi que plusieurs caves voûtées.

Notes :

(1)Les Yotvingiens (Jaćwingowie ou Jaćwięgowie en polonais) sont une tribu du peuple Balte qui occupait la zone d'influence la plus au Sud de ce peuple, c'est à dire une région située à cheval sur les actuels pays de Pologne, Lituanie, et Bielorussie dans une moindre mesure. Cette zone était située approximativement entre Bialystok (PL) au sud et Kaunas (LT) au nord. Suivez-ce lien sur Wikipédia pour avoir un aperçu de ces tribus baltes et prusses.

(2)Un gród est un ensemble de fortifié en terre et en bois, souvent un petit village de quelques maisons ceinturé d'une palissade, avec ou sans tour de guet.

(3)Cette région, actuellement située au nord-est de la Pologne actuelle était occupée par plusieurs tribus prusses (également appelées Borusses en français) et des tribus baltes, dont les Poméraniens, les Pomésaniens, les Warmiens, les Semigaliens,... Suivez-ce lien sur Wikipédia pour avoir un aperçu de ces tribus.

(4)Skomantas, ou Komantas est un chef de la tribu Balte des Yotvingiens. Il est sans doute né vers 1225 et mort vers 1285. Il est mentionné pour la première fois par le chroniqueur de l'Ordre Teutonique, Pierre de Duisbourg, pour sa participation dans le Grand Soulèvement de 1260. En 1263, il commande l'attaque des tribus contre le château de Chełmno. Il est aussi considéré comme étant l'ancêtre de la dynastie de Gediminas, d'où le roi de Pologne Władysław II Jagiełło est issu.

(5)Cette deuxième insurrection commence le 20 septembre 1260, au lendemain de la défaite de l'Ordre Teutonique contre une coalition de tribus lituaniennes et Samogitiennes lors de la bataille de Durbe. Cette défaite de l'Ordre a provoqué un soulèvement qui s'est rapidement étendu à travers tout le territoire des tribus prusses. Les différents châteaux de l'Ordre sont assiégés, et les plus petits d'entre eux commencent à tomber aux mains des Prusses. Malgré l'arrivée de nombreux renforts venus de l'Empire Germanique et de toute l'Europe, il faudra attendre 1265 pour que l'Ordre Teutonique ne commence à vaincre ses ennemis. Il faudra encore quelques années avant que les différents chefs de tribus ne soient défaits et pendus, au cours de l'hiver 1271-1272. En 1274, l'Ordre attaque Lidzbark Warmiński, y capture le dernier chef rebelle et le fait éxécuter, provoquant ainsi la fin du soulèvement.

(6)Le 15 juillet 1410, l'Ordre Teutonique est pratiquement anéanti par une armée coalisée menée par le roi de Pologne Jagiełło et son cousin Vytaudas, Grand duc de Lituanie, sur la plaine de Grunwald (Tannenberg), à environ 90 km à vol d'oiseau au sud-est de Malbork.

(7)Il s'agit de la guerre de 13 ans, une nouvelle guerre entre l'Ordre Teutonique et la Pologne de 1454 à 1466. Elle s'est achevée par la victoire de la Pologne et le 2ème traité de Toruń signé par les deux parties en 1466.

(8)Cette guerre est aussi connue comme le "Déluge Suédois" (Potop en polonais) ou Première Guerre du Nord. Elle débute en 1655 avec l'invasion de l'ouest de la République de Pologne-Lituanie par la Suède. La mort du roi de Suède Charles X Gustave le 23 février 1660 provoquera la fin de la guerre et la signature du traité de paix d'Oliwa le 23 avril de la même année.

    


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Zamki i Obiekty Warowne - Od Malborka do Torunia"
    Agnieszka i Robert Sypek; Almapress 2008
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 1997-2020