Battle at Montgisard in 1177

Taking advantage of the absence of nearly all the Frankish armies who were at war in North Syria, Saladin led his armies against the Kingdom of Jerusalem.
Hearing of Saladin's arrival in the Kingdom, the Knights Templar barricaded themselves in their fortress of Gaza, which was on the path of the invaders. Baudouin IV, the Leprous King, gathered 500 knights, and taking the True Cross walked to Ascalon to defend it.
Seeing Gaza well defended by the Templars, Saladin left the city behind him and made his way towards Ascalon, where he found Baudouin IV entrenched behind the walls.
Knowing that the Frankish defenders were entrenched in Ascalon, Saladin decided to continue to Jerusalem. Instead of going there directly, he let his armies scatter throughout the country to plunder and destroy villages and small cities.
Baudouin IV warned the Templars in Gaza and when he gathered his forces with the Templars (less than 600 knights in total) he decided to make his way to Jerusalem where he could fight the enemy rather than stay locked within the city walls.
The Franks made a big turning movement, going first along the coast to the North and then going to the South-East to meet Saladin. The encounter occurred at the South of Montgisard, in the Oued of Tell al-Safiya.
Despite crushing numerical inferiority, the Frankish Knights didn't hesitate to swoop down upon the Muslim armies, which were scattered in the Oued. They slaughtered an important number of enemies, several of whom were Saladin's generals.
Faced by the rout of his troops, Saladin found shelter in the heart of his elite guard, composed of one thousand Mameluks. The Frankish cavalry regrouped to charge this last resistance. They broke down the Muslim lines and nearly reached Saladin, who narrowly avoided being killed during the clashes.
Saved by nightfall on the battlefield, Saladin ordered a retreat and fled to Egypt with his army in shreds.
The Battle of Montgisard was one of the most splendid Frankish victories in the history of the Crusades and Eastern Latin States.

Webmaster : Christophe STAF
© Templiers.org 2003-2014 PageRank Actuel

La Bataille de Montgisard en 1177

Profitant de l'absence de presque toutes les armées franques parties guerroyer en Syrie du nord, Saladin prit la tête de ses armées et marcha rapidement vers le royaume de Jerusalem .
Apprenant l'arrivée de Saladin dans les royaume, les Templiers se barricadèrent dans leur forteresse de Gaza qui se trouvait sur le chemin des envahisseurs, tandis que Baudouin IV, le Roi Lépreux, rassembla 500 chevaliers, prit la Vraie Croix et marcha vers Ascalon pour la défendre .
Voyant Gaza bien défendue par les Chevaliers du Temple, Saladin laissa la ville derrière lui et se dirigea vers Ascalon, où il y trouva Baudouin IV retranché derrière les murailles .
Sachant ainsi les derniers défenseurs francs tous retranchés à Ascalon, Saladin décida de continuer sa marche vers Jerusalem, mais au lieu de s'y rendre directement, il laissa ses armées s'éparpiller dans le pays pour piller et détruire les petites villes et villages rencontrés .
Baudouin IV fit avertir les Templiers de Gaza, et lorsqu'il eut réuni ses forces et celles du Temple, moins de 600 chevaliers, il décida de porter secours à Jerusalem pour combattre l'ennemi en campagne, plutôt que de rester enfermer dans des murs .
Les francs établirent un énorme mouvement tournant en longeant la côte vers le nord et ensuite en descendant vers le sud-est à la rencontre de Saladin .
La rencontre eut lieu au sud de Montgisard, dans l'Oued de Tell al-Safiya .
En infériorité numérique écrasante, les chevaliers francs n'hésitèrent pas un instant à fondre sur les armées musulmanes dispersées dans l'Oued et ils massacrèrent un nombre important d'ennemis dont plusieurs généraux de Saladin.
Saladin, devant la débâcle de ses troupes se réfugia au sein de sa garde d'élite, composée de mille mameluks . La chevalerie franque se regroupa pour charger cette dernière résistance, enfonca les lignes musulmanes et parvint presque jusqu'à Saladin qui faillit être tué au cours des affrontements .
Sauvé par la nuit qui tombait sur le champ de bataille, Saladin ordonna la retraite et s'enfuit vers l'Egypte avec les lambeaux de son armée .

Ce fut l'une des plus belles victoires franques de toute l'histoire des Croisades et des Etats Latins d'Orient .

Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017