Otto von Kerpen (11??-1209)

Source : Agnieszka STAF

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

Master of the Teutonic Order from 1208 to 1209.

All information on the origin of the second Grand Master of the Teutonic Order are very dubious and they should be treated with the greatest care. Often, he is said to come from a noble family living in the Rhineland, whose seat was at the castle of Kerpen close to Gillesheim. Another Brother would have come from this same family, and would have perished on July 2, 1307 during the battles near Riga. The truth remains unknown, but several historians say that the most probably Otto von Kerpen was, like Heinrich Walpot, a middle-class man of Breme. Add the fact that at the beginning of the existence of the Order, the majority of the brothers originated from this city, and this idea is very probable.

During the time Otto von Kerpen was Grand Master, the Teutonic Order was always a fragile and weak institution. Dependant upon Hospitallers and also partly of Templars, it had practically no significance in the politics of the Holy Land and the Grand Master probably had only a small troop of armed knights.

The legal situation of Teutons was also dubious. From the very start of their existence, they were engaged in a conflict with the very powerful Templars and they had to take into account the possibility of being absorbed or permanently subordinated to the Templars.
In the streets of Acre, there were often scandalous and furious brawls between the brothers of the two competitor Orders. In front of the courts of the Kingdom of Jerusalem, were held several ferocious lawsuits whose cause was the attire. Templars wore the white cloak with a red cross, they and said that Teutonic Order may not to carry the same white cloak with a black cross, and that they did not desire such similarity. In 1211, the pope Innocent III ceased these disputes by agreeing to the granting of rights to the white coat with the black cross.

The reign of Otto von Kerpen in the Teutonic Order was very short and lasted probably about a year. The second Grand Master of the Teutonic Order died on February 7th 1209 in Acre and was buried there in an unknown place.

Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2018

Otto von Kerpen (11??-1209)

Source : Agnieszka Staf

Maître de l'Ordre de 1208 à 1209

Toutes les informations sur l'origine du deuxième grand maitre de l'Ordre Teutonique sont très incertaines et il faut les traiter avec la plus grande réserve. Souvent, on le dit issu d'une famille noble habitant en Rhénanie, dont le siège familial se trouvait au chateau de Kerpen près de Gillesheim. De cette même famille serait issu un autre frère qui aurait péri le 2 juillet 1307 pendant les luttes à Riga. On ne sait pas quelle est la vérité, mais plusieurs historiens disent que la version la plus probable est que Otto von Kerpen était, comme Heinrich Walpot, un bourgeois de Brème. Si on ajoute qu'au début de l’existence de l’Ordre, la majorité des frères était originaire de cette ville, leur idée est très probable.

Pendant le règne d'Otto von Kerpen, l’Ordre Teutonique était toujours une institution fragile et faible. Dépendant des Hospitaliers et aussi en partie des Templiers, il n’avait pratiquement aucune signification dans la politique de la Terre Sainte et le grand maitre ne disposait probablement que d'une petite troupe de chevaliers armés.

La situation juridique des Teutoniques était aussi incertaine. Dès le début de leur existence, ils étaient engagés dans un conflit avec les très puissants Templiers et ils devaient compter sur la possibilité d’être absorbés ou subordonnés durablement aux Templiers.
Dans les rues d’Acre, il y avait souvent des bagarres scandaleuses et furieuses entre les frères des deux ordres concurrents. Devant les tribunaux du Royaume de Jérusalem, se déroulaient plusieurs procès acharnés dont la cause était la tenue. Les Templiers portaient le manteau blanc avec la croix rouge et disaient que les Teutoniques ne devaient pas porter le même manteau blanc avec la croix noire et qu'ils ne souhaitaient pas cette ressemblance. En 1211, Le pape Innocent III fait cesser ces disputes en donnant son accord pour l'octroi du manteau blanc avec la croix noire.

Le règne d'Otto von Kerpen dans l’Ordre Teutonique a été très court et a duré probablement à peu près un an. Le deuxième grand maitre de l'Ordre Teutonique est mort le 7 février 1209 à Acre et y a été enterré dans un endroit inconnu.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich"
    Pawel Pizunski; Wydawnictwo "Arenga"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 1997-2018