Pierre de Montaigu (11??-1232)

Translation : David COBBOLD

Master of the Order from 1218 to 1232.

Master of the province of Aragon since 1211, Pierre de Montaigu participated beside Guillaume de Chartres at the siege of Damiette.
At the death of de Chartres in August 1218, Pierre de Montaigu was immediately elected Master by the Knights gathered for a General Chapter.
The siege of Damiette continued, but a discord seemed to occur within Muslim ranks. The Franks took advantage of this to cross the Nile River and to make raids in the fertile plains of the Nile delta.
There, Frankish forces found themselves face to face with the Muslim troops of the Sultan of Caïro and the Sultan of Damas, who put their quarrels aside to unite against the Christian menace.

Pierre de Montaigu, with Guerin de Montaigu, Master of the Hospital (and maybe his brother), and Herman von Salza, Master of the Teutonic Order, set forth to meet the Muslim army. The iron wall created by the knights of the three Orders repelled the Muslim assault without problem. In fact the assault only resulted in Mulsim soldiers smashing against the Frankish spears and shields. (Chronicler Mathieu Paris described the Frank force as ‘a brass wall which covered all the Christian soldiers’)
A while after this battle, Hakim the Sultan of Damas proposed a truce to the Christians. He negotiated a deal with the Master of the Temple. The deal included an end to the siege of Damas, in exchange for: the retrocession of the Kingdom and the city of Jerusalem, the return of the wood of the True Cross captured during the Battle of Hattin, and the liberation of a thousand Frank prisoners.
The majority of the Frankish Lords agreed with this proposition, but Pierre de Montaigu, in obedience to the pressure exerted by the Legate Pelage, refused the generous offer.
So the siege of the city continued and the Franks captured it on November 5th 1219. The occupation only lasted for two years though.

In 1221, the city was recaptured by the Muslims and an 8 year truce was signed between Muslims and Christians. This truce enabled the Templars to send a lot of reinforcements from the Holy Land to Spain in order to participate in the ‘Reconquista’.
On several occasions Pierre de Montaigu also had to play the role of arbitrator between Jean de Brienne, Legate Pelage and the Hospitalers.
In the course of these occasions, he showed a great diplomatic sense as he managed to conciliate the different parties.

In 1227, the Master of the Temple and the Master of the Hospital harshly criticised the attitude of the Germanic Emperor Frederic II. The Emperor preferred to stay in Italy rather than visiting the Holy Land as he had promised to Pope Honorius III and his successor Gregoire IX. Frederic II was excommunicated and as revenge, he attacked the Templar and Hospitaler domains within his European territories. Several preceptories were plundered and some Templars and Hospitalers were killed.
Both Masters were also outspoken against Frederic II when he alone negotiated the retrocession of the city and the kingdom of Jerusalem with the Muslims. The treaty was signed in Jaffa at the beginning of 1229 by Frederic II and the Sultan of Egypt. The city was returned to Frederic II, except for the Omar Mosque, an Islam holy place.
Pierre de Montaigu accused Frederic II of wanting to establish his temporal power by seizeing for himself alone all the wealth of Palestine. This accusation did nothing to calm the strained relationship between the two antagonists.

After signing the treaty Frederic entered Jerusalem to be sacred King in the Church of the Saint-Sepulchre, despite being excommunicated by Pope Gregoire IX at the time. Jean de Brienne was obligated to abdicate in favour of Frederic because Frederic had married his daughter Yolande, in 1225, four years earlier.
When Frederic II arrived in Jerusalem, a riot broke out and he had to leave the city hurriedly. The Germanic Emperor accused the Master of the Temple of instigating the revolt.
Frederic II fled back to Europe hurriedly, because his possessions in Italy were being threatened by an army raised by the Pope and lead by the dethroned King, Jean de Brienne.

After these episodes, Pierre de Montaigu organised several raids against Muslims armies which encircled the few remaining cities of the Latin States. According to Reims obituary, de Montaigu died in January 1232.

Previous Master : Guillaume de Chartres - Next Master : Armand de Périgord

Back to Masters list


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Armorial des Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Bernard Marillier; Editions Pardès 2000
  2. "Histoire des Templiers"
    J.-J.-E. Roy ; Editions Pardes 1999
Webmaster : Christophe STAF
© Templiers.org 2003-2014 PageRank Actuel

Pierre de Montaigu (11??-1232)

Maître de l'Ordre de 1218 à 1232

Maître de la Province d'Aragon depuis 1211, Pierre de Montaigu participe aux côtés de Guillaume de Chartres au siège de Damiette, aucours duquel il meurt de la peste qui s'est déclarée dans les rangs chrétiens (Août 1218).
Pierre de Montaigu est immédiatement élu par les autres dignitaires présents, hâtivement rassemblés en Chapître Général.
Le siège de Damiette se poursuit, mais la discorde semble éclater au sein de forces musulmanes et les francs en profitent pour traverser le Nil et effectuer des razzias dans les plaines fertiles du delta.
Les forces franques tombent nez à nez avec des troupes des sultans du Caire et de Damas qui ont réussi à mettre leurs différends de côté devant cette menace chrétienne.
Pierre de Montaigu, avec son homonyme Guerin de Montaigu (peut-être même son frère??) Maître de l'Ordre des Hospitaliers et Herman Von Salza, Maître de l'Ordre Teutonique se portent à la rencontre de cette armée musulmane. Ce rempart d'acier que forme les chevaliers des trois Ordres réunis (Matthieu Paris le décrit comme un "mur d'airain qui couvrait les soldats chrétiens") va soutenir sans problème l'assaut musulman qui ne réussira qu'à se fracasser contre les lances et les boucliers. Encore une fois, grâce aux Ordres Militaires, les armées chrétiennes sont sauvées.

Peu de temps après cette bataille, Hâkim, Sultan de Damas propose une trève et un marché aux chrétiens. Il négocie avec le Maître du Temple la levée du siège de Damas en échange de la rétrocession aux francs de Jerusalem et de son royaume, le bois de la Vraie Croix capturée lors de la bataille de Hattin ainsi que la libération de milliers de prisonniers francs.
La plupart des barons francs se montrent d'accord avec cette proposition, mais Pierre de Montaigu, sous la pression de Pelage, refuse cette offre généreuse.
Le siège de Damiette se poursuit et la ville tombe finalement aux mains des chrétiens le 05 novembre 1219 pour deux petites années seulement.

Après la reprise de Damiette en 1221 par les musulmans, une trève de huit ans est conclue entre les deux parties. Les Templiers profiteront de cette trève pour envoyer nombre de chevaliers de Terre Sainte en Espagne, pour aider les rois d'Espagne dans leur "Reconquista".
Pierre de Montaigu doit plusieurs fois jouer le rôle d'arbitre entre Jean de Brienne, roi de Jerusalem, le légat Pélage et les Hospitaliers. Lors de ces occasions, il fait preuve d'un grand sens de la diplomatie et parvient à calmer les esprits.
En 1227, les Maîtres du Temple et de l'Hopital critiquent vivement l'attitude de l'Empereur Germanique Frederic II préfère rester en Italie plutôt que de venir en Terre Sainte comme il l'avait promis au Pape Honorius III et à son successeur Grégoire IX. Frederic II est excommunié et s'en prend aux biens des Templiers et des Hospitaliers situés dans ses domaines d'Europe. Plusieurs commanderies sont pillées, des Templiers et des Hospitaliers sont assassinés.
Le Maître du Temple, ainsi que le Maître de l'Hopital sont également contre Frédéric II qui négocie avec les musulmans la rétrocession de la ville et du royaume de Jerusalem. Un traité est signé à Jaffa au début de l'année 1229 avec le sultan d'Egypte qui remet la ville à Frederic II, à l'exception de la Mosquée d'Omar, Lieu Saint de l'Islam.
Pierre de Montaigu accuse alors Frederic II de vouloir asseoir son pouvoir temporel et de s'accaparer pour lui seul les richesses de Palestine. Cette accusation ne calme pas les relations très tendues entre les deux personnages.
Après la signature du traité, alors que Fredéric II est toujours sous le coup de l'excommunication prononcée contre lui par le Pape Grégoire IX, il entre à Jerusalem pour être sacré Roi dans l'Eglise du Saint-Sépulcre. Jean de Brienne est obligé d'abdiquer en sa faveur après que Frédéric II ait épousé sa fille Yolande en 1225 .
A son arrivée dans la ville, une émeute se déclenche et Frédéric II doit quitter Jerusalem dans la précipitation. L'Empereur Germanique accuse le Maître du Temple d'avoir fomenté cette révolte.
Frédéric II doit regagner très vite l'Europe, car une armée levée par le Pape et commandée par Jean de Brienne, le roi déchu, menace ses possessions en Italie.

Pierre de Montaigu organise plusieurs raids de plus ou moins grande importance contre les positions musulmanes qui encerclent les quelques villes et forteresses de ce qui reste des lambeaux des Etats Latins d'Orient, mais il meurt en janvier 1232 selon l'obituaire de Reims.

Ecartelé : au premier et au quatrième d'argent à la croix pattée et alésée de gueules, au deuxième et au troisième de gueules à la tour donjonnée de deux pièces d'argent, ouverte, ajourée et maçonnée de sable

Maître précédent : Guillaume de Chartres - Maître suivant : Armand de Périgord

Retour à la liste des Maîtres


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Armorial des Maîtres de l'Ordre du Temple"
    Bernard Marillier; Editions Pardès 2000
  2. "Histoire des Templiers"
    J.-J.-E. Roy ; Editions Pardes 1999
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017