The preceptory of Saussay

Translation : Andrew Zolnai
No pictures available

France, département de l'Ain

France, department of Essonne (91), around 20 km north-east of Etampes and around 25 km west of Melun, commune of Ballancourt

Around the end of the 1150s, probably around 1158 or 1159, Thierry Galeran(1), Lord of Ferté-Alais decided to enter the Order of the Temple. When he was admitted, he wanted to donate the estates he owned at the Saussay, but which he had previously donated to the Abbey of Morigny.

Le pignon de la chapelle
Le Temple du Saussay
Source : www.cartocassini.org

In 1159, Landry, Abbot of Morigny(2), agreed to give back to the Order of the Temple the entire village of Saussay and the lands that depended on it for an annual rent of 10 livres to be taken from the income of the preceptory of Chalou.

Cette donation avec le transfert de propriété de l'abbaye vers l'Ordre du Temple sera approuvée par le pape Alexandre III en décembre 1159. Ce sera également confirmé par le roi Louis VII en 1164.

This donation, with the transfer of ownership of the abbey to the Order of the Temple, will be approved by Pope Alexander III in December 1159. This will also be confirmed by King Louis VII in 1164.

L'église Saint-Aignan
Les ruines de la chapelle Saint-Blaise
Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org

Located along the way from Ballancourt to La Ferté, the preceptory consisted of a house with a chapel dedicated to Saint Blaise and a barn. The whole estate included 120 arpents(3) of land, various fees and taxes, and also several mills located along the Essonne River.

In the years following the creation of the preceptory, its incomes will increase substantially. On the one hand, when a certain Hugues d'Essonne and his son Eudes abandoned a censive that they possessed near the mills along the river and on the other hand, when a certain Regnaut Bacheler yields to them a fief which he also possessed over these mills.

In 1356, when the Hospitallers erected Le Saussay as a main preceptory, they added the house of the temple of Auvernaux, and in 1385, the house of the Temple of Baudelu.

Notes :

(1)He is also called Thierry de la Ferté. He was the son of Robert Galeran and a certain Emmeline. We do not know exactly his date of birth, but in 1132, we find him among the relatives of the King of France Louis VI. Later, he moved to the service of King Louis VII and became one of his main advisers. Having become relatively rich because of his duties at the royal court, he was one of the principal benefactors of the Abbey of Morigny near Etampes. In 1162, when entering the Order of the Temple, he shared a big part of his domains between various religious orders : Templars, Hospitallers, Cistercians, ...

(2)The abbey of Sainte-Trinité de Morigny is a former Benedictine abbey of Gâtinais, founded at the end of the 11th century.

(3)Depending on the region, one arpent was more or less 50 ares.


More references...Bibliography
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 1997-2018

La maison du Saussay

Pas de galerie photo disponible

France, département de l'Essonne

France, département de l'Essonne (91), à environ 20 km au nord-est d'Etampes et 25 km à l'ouest de Melun, commune de Ballancourt

Vers la fin des années 1150, sans doute vers 1158 ou 1159, Thierry Galeran(1), seigneur de la Ferté-Alais décide d'entrer dans l'Ordre du Temple. Lors de son admission, il veut faire don des domaines qu'il possédait au Saussay, mais qu'il avait donné auparavant à l'abbaye de Morigny.

Le pignon de la chapelle
Le Temple du Saussay
Source : www.cartocassini.org

En 1159, Landry, abbé de Morigny(2), accepte de rétrocéder à l'Ordre du Temple l'entièreté du village de Saussay et des terres qui en dépendent contre une rente annuelle de 10 livres à prendre sur les revenus de la commanderie de Chalou.

Cette donation avec le transfert de propriété de l'abbaye vers l'Ordre du Temple sera approuvée par le pape Alexandre III en décembre 1159. Ce sera également confirmé par le roi Louis VII en 1164.

L'église Saint-Aignan
Les ruines de la chapelle Saint-Blaise
Source : https://commons.wikimedia.org

Située en bordure du chemin de Ballancourt à La Ferté, la commanderie se compose d'une maison avec une chapelle qui sera dédiée à Saint Blaise et une grange. L'ensemble du domaine comprend 120 arpents(3) de terres, divers droits et taxes, et aussi plusieurs moulins situés le long de l'Essonne.

Au cours des années suivant la création de la commanderie, les revenus de celle-ci vont sensiblement augmenter. D'une part, lorsqu'un certain Hugues d'Essonne et son fils Eudes font abandon d'une censive qu'il possédaient à proximité des moulins le long de la rivière et d'autre part, lorsqu'un certain Regnaut Bacheler leur cède un fief qu'il possédait aussi sur ces moulins.

En 1356, lorsque les Hospitaliers érigent Le Saussay en chef-lieu de commanderie, ils lui adjoignent la maison du temple d'Auvernaux, en en 1385, la maison du Temple de Baudelu.

Notes :

(1)Il est aussi appelé Thierry de la Ferté. Il est le fils de Robert Galeran et d'une certaine Emmeline. On ne connait pas sa date de naissance, mais en 1132, on le retrouve dans les familiers du roi de France Louis VI. Il passe ensuite au service du roi Louis VII et en devient l'un des principaux conseillers. Devenu relativement riche à cause de ses fonctions à la cour royale, il sera l'un des principaux bienfaiteurs de l'abbaye de Morigny près d'Etampes. En 1162, au moment d'entrer dans l'Ordre du Temple, il partagera une bonne partie de ses domaines entre divers ordres religieux, Templiers, Hospitaliers, cisterciens,...

(2)L'abbaye de la Sainte-Trinité de Morigny est une ancienne abbaye bénédictine du Gâtinais, fondée à la fin du 11e siècle.

(3)En fonction des régions, un arpent valait plus ou moins 50 ares.


pour une bibliographie plus complète...Bibliographie
  1. "Les commanderies du Grand Prieuré de France"(lien sur archive.org - volume 1 - lien sur archive.org - volume 2)
    Eugène Mannier, 1872
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017