Anno von Sangerhausen (12??-1273)

Source : Agnieszka STAF

Translation : Andrew Zolnai

Master of the Teutonic Order from 1256 to 1273.

Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich - Pawel Pizunski, Wydawnictwo 'Arenga'
Anno von Sangerhausen
Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich

Anno has no relation to the Princes of Brunschweig, as wrote it an historian, and none with the free and playful chivalry of the German Empire. As Bart, Salza and Wüllersleben, he came from a family of bailiffs from Landgrave in Thuringia, of which the city of Sangerhausen was probably the principal domain.
We know only few things about his family, even if Jutta von Sangerhausen(1), venerated as the angel of Chełmża were his parent.

Anno suddenly appears in the history of the Teutonic Order in 1254 as Master of the Province of Livonia(3). The properties of the Teutonic Order lie along the eastern Baltic Sea and spread from Pomerania to Livonia. Lithuanians were at peace with the Teutonic Order, and along the banks of the Niemen River, expanded the new stronghold of Klaipėda.

Source : Wikipédia- l'encyclopédie libre
Jutta von Sangerhausen
Source : Wikipédia
Anno von Sangerhausen contributed significantly to the building of this fortress and when it was attacked by Samogitians(3), he rushed to its rescue, and with a lot of bloodshed he pacified the entire region of Samogitia.

In June 1256, Anno had to go to Rome to attend the General Chapter convened by the Grand Master of the Order, Poppo von Osternohe, who resigned under circumstances still unclear to this day. Some time later, probably during the Chapter convened in Frankfurt-am-Main some months later, Anno von Sangerhausen was elected new Grand Master of the Teutonic Order.

After a few years of relative peace, Samogitians attacked Livonia with the help of Lithuanian King Mindaugas(4). In September 1260 in Prussia, all the tribes revolted against the Order and Alexander Nevski(5), prince of Novgorod, left the city of Psków to besiege Dorpat(6). All those oppressed by the Teutonics attacked them and the Order narrowly escaped this onslaught. It lost most of its castles and kept only those along the rivers and the cove of the Vistule.

Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich - Pawel Pizunski, Wydawnictwo 'Arenga'
Anno von Sangerhausen
Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich

To save the Order in mortal danger, Anno von Sangerhausen launched a diplomatic offensive across Europe and especially at the papal court, where he managed to obtain the summons by pope Urbain IV of all Crusaders across Central Europe. The Pope requested their assistance in fighting the pagans of the North, and even offers absolution to all who committed offences in their country if they helped the Teutonic Knights. Thanks to this call, Anno was able to quickly return to Prussia in January 1263 with a sizeable troop of cavalry particularly from the Rhineland.

After this first success, Anno starts to recruit everywhere in Europe, but especially in Germany, in his native Thuringia, in Brandenburg, Franconia at the princes of Brunswick, in Altenberg, Marburg, Quedlinburg, Eger, Regensburg. He even goes to Bohemia and Austria, and no doubt thanks to all this energy, new knights arrive non-stop in Prussia. The other result of his efforts was the creation of 16 new preceptories in Europe such as for example in Venice, St-Leonardo, Mottling and Eger, from which the Order drew a lot of money for its military actions in the East.

When in 1265, the pope Clement IV asks again for assistance for the Teutonic Order, even Prince Albert II of Brunswick(7), Landgrave Albert II of Thuringia(8) and Margrave Otto III of Brandeburg(9) come to its help. But it is the expedition of Margrave Dytryk II(10) which devastated Natangia(11) and carried the most serious blow against Prussia in 1272.
As of that moment, Teutonics began to take back the lands lost previously and, they seized back the fortress of Lidzbark and push back resistance beyond the bordering areas of the Teutonic State.

Anno von Sangerhausen died on July 7th or 8th 1273 in Germany without seeing the definite triumph of the Order. One doesn't know neither the exact place of his death nor of his burial. Chroniclers say that it would be in Trier or in Mergentheim.

Previous Master : Poppo von Osternohe - Next Master : Hartmann von Haldrungen

Back to Masters list

Notes :

(1)Saint Judith (Jutta in German), also called Judith of Kulmsee (Chełmża), Judith of Sangerhausen or Judith of Thuringen. She was born in the beginning of the 13th century. At the death of her husband, she entered the Secular Franciscan Order and joined a community at the border of the Teutonic territories (Kulmsee - Chełmża) in Pomerania. She is honoured as Patron Saint of Prussia.

(2)Province of the Teutonic Order located east of the Baltic Sea. Its territory comprises almost entirety of the territory of the current Baltic States: Estonia, Latvia & Lithuania.

(3)Samogitians were among Baltic Tribes occupying territories of current Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia. to see the spread of these baltic tribes, follow this link on wikipedia.

(4)Mindaugas or Mendoga was born around 1203. Very little is known about him. He becomes the first Grand Duke of Lithuania in 1236, and after a great victory against the Teutonic Order, he claimed the title of King of Lithania in 1251. He will be the only one to bear this title. To accede to the throne, he had had to accept his Christian baptism, in 1250 or 1251. He is murdered by members of his own family in 1263.

(5) Alexander Iaroslavitch Nevski was born in 1220 and died in 1263. He became Prince of Novgorod in 1236 et Great Prince of Kiev in 1249. He achieves a great victory against the Swedish armies on the banks of the Neva River in July 1240 and crushes the army of the Teutonic Order at the Battle of Lake Peïpous in 1242.

(6)Tartu (Dorpat) is est currently the second city of Estonia. In the beginning of the 13th century, it was the seat of a bishopric until the end of the 16th century. The first bishop was Hermann von Buxhöwden, the brother of Albert of Riga who was at the origin of the creation of the Livonian Brothers of the Sword .

(7)Albert II of Saxony, born around 1250, Duke of Saxony in 1260, dead in 1298.

(8)Albert II "the Degenerate" was born in 1240 et died in 1314. He was landgrave of Thuringe from 1265 to 1307, date of his abdication.

(9)Otto (Othon) III "the Pious". He was born around 1215 and died in 1267. He is the second son of Albert II of Brandenburg and of Mathilda Wettin. He was Margrave of Brandenburg from 1220 to 1267.

(10)Thierry(Dytryk ou encore Dietrich) "le sage", Margrave de Landsberg. Il est né vers 1242 et mort en 1285 de retour d'une expédition en Pologne.

(11)This region, nowadays located on North-east of Poland (also called Borders or Marches in English) was occupied by several Old-Prussian and Baltic Tribes, among them the Pomeranians, Pomesanians, Warmians, Semigalians,... Follow this link on Wikipedia to have a glimpse of this tribes.


More references... Bibliography
  1. "Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich"
    Pawel Pizunski; Wydawnictwo "Arenga"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
Translation : Andrew Zolnai
© Templiers.org 2003-2017

Anno von Sangerhausen (12??-1273)

Contribution : Agnieszka STAF

Maître de l'Ordre Teutonique de 1256 à 1273

Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich - Pawel Pizunski, Wydawnictwo 'Arenga'
Anno von Sangerhausen
Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich

Anno n'a aucun rapport avec les princes de Brunschwig, comme l'écrivait un historien, ni aucune liaison avec la chevalerie libre et folâtre de l'Empire Germanique. Comme Bart, von Salza et Wüllersleben, il est issu d'une famille de régisseurs du landgrave de Thuringe et dont la ville de Sangerhausen était probablement le domaine principal.

On ne sait presque rien sur sa famille, même si Jutta von Sangerhausen(1), vénérée comme l'ange de Chełmża, était sa parente.

Anno est soudainement apparu dans l'histoire de l'Ordre Teutonique en 1254 comme grand maitre de la province de Livonie(2). Les propriétés de l'Ordre Teutonique longent alors la mer Baltique et s'étendent de Poméranie en Livonie. Les Lituaniens sont en paix avec l'Ordre et au bord du Niemen, la nouvelle forteresse de Klaipėda se développe.

Source : Wikipédia- l'encyclopédie libre
Jutta von Sangerhausen
Source : Wikipédia
Anno von Sangerhausen contribue considérablement à la construction de cette forteresse et quand elle est attaquée par les Samogitiens(3), il se précipite à son secours et pacifie de façon sanglante toute la région de Samogitie.

En juin 1256, Anno doit se rendre à Rome pour prendre part au chapitre général convoqué par le grand maitre Poppo von Osternohe qui, dans des circonstances qui ne sont toujours pas élucidées à l'heure actuelle, se démet de ses fonctions. Peu après, probablement pendant la tenue du chapitre à Frankfort-am-Main, Anno Sangerhausen est élu nouveau Grand-Maître l'Ordre Teutonique.

Après quelques années de paix relative, les Samogitiens, appuyés par le roi lituanien Mindaugas(4), attaquent la Livonie. En septembre 1260 en Prusse, une grande révolte de toutes les tribus éclate contre l'Ordre et Alexandre Nevski(5), prince de Novgorod, part de Psków pour pour assiéger Dorpat(6). Tous les peuples oppressés par les Teutoniques se jettent contre eux et l'Ordre faillit bien disparaître sous ce déluge. Il perd la majorité de ses châteaux et ne garde que ceux situés le long des rivières et au bord de l'anse de la Vistule.

Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich - Pawel Pizunski, Wydawnictwo 'Arenga'
Anno von Sangerhausen
Source : Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich

Pour sauver l'Ordre en danger mortel, Anno von Sangerhausen entame une grande action diplomatique partout en Europe et surtout à la cour papale, où il parvient à obtenir la convocation par le pape Urbain IV des croisés de toute l'Europe Centrale. Le Pape leur demande d'accorder leur aide dans la lutte contre les païens du nord et recommande même de donner l'absolution à tous ceux qui ont commis des délits dans leur pays s'ils vont aider les Teutoniques. Grâce à cet appel, Anno pouvait se précipiter en Prusse en janvier 1263 avec une importante troupe de chevalerie surtout originaire de Rhénanie.

Après cette première réussite, Anno commence le recrutement partout en Europe, mais surtout en Allemagne, dans sa Thuringe natale, en Brandenbourg, en Franconie chez les princes de Brunswick, à Altenberg, Marburg, Quedlinburg, Eger, Regensburg. Il se rend même en Bohême et en Autriche et c'est sans aucun doute grâce à toute cette énergie que de nouveaux chevaliers arrivent sans cesse en Prusse.
L'autre résultat de ses efforts est la création de 16 nouvelles commanderies en Europe comme par exemple à Venise, S.Leonardo, Mottling et Eger, d'où l'Ordre puise pas mal d'argent pour ses actions a l'Est.

Quand en 1265, le pape Clément IV demande à nouveau de l'aide pour l'Ordre Teutonique, même le prince de Brunswick Albert II(7), le landgrave de Thuringe Albert II(8) et le margrave de Brandebourg Otto III(9) viennent à son secours. Mais c'est l'expédition du margrave Dytryk II(10) qui dévaste la Natangie(11) qui porte le coup le plus grave pour les tribus Prusses en 1272.
Dès cet instant, les Teutoniques commencent à récupérer les terrains perdus précédemment, reprennent la forteresse Lidzbark et repoussent la résistance au-delà des zones frontières de l'Etat Teutonique.

Anno von Sangerhausen décède le 7 ou 8 juillet 1273 en Allemagne sans voir le triomphe définitif de l'Ordre. On ne connait ni l'endroit exact de sa mort ni de sa sépulture. Des chroniqueurs disent qu'elle serait à Trèves ou à Mergentheim.

Blason de Anno von Sangerhausen

Maître précédent : Poppo von Osternohe - Maître suivant : Hartmann von Haldrungen

Retour à la liste des Maîtres

Notes :

(1)Sainte Judith(Jutta en allemand), aussi appelée Judith de Kulmsee (Chełmża), Judith de Sangerhausen ou encore Judith de Thuringe. Elle est née à Sangerhausen au début du 13e siècle. A la mort de son époux, elle entre dans le Tiers-Ordre-Franciscain (Ordre laïc) et rejoint une communauté à la frontière des territoires teutoniques (Kulmsee - Chełmża) en Poméranie. Elle est honorée comme la patronne de la Prusse.

(2)Province de l'Ordre Teutonique située à l'est de la Mer Baltique. Son territoire correspond à la quasi totalité des territoires des actuels Pays Baltes : Estonie, Lettonie & Lituanie.

(3)Les Samogitiens faisaient partie des tribus baltes occupant le territoire de ce qui est actuelement la Lituanie, l'Estonie et la Lettonie. Pour visualiser l'implantation de ces différentes tribus baltes, suivez-ce lien sur Wikipédia anglais.

(4)Mindaugas ou encore Mendoga est né vers 1203. On ne connait que peu de chose à son sujet. Il devient le premier Grand Duc de Lituanie en 1236, et après une importante victoire contre l'Ordre Teutonique, prend le titre de Roi de Lituanie en 1251. Il sera le seul à porter ce titre. Pour y accéder, il accepte le baptême chrétien en 1250 ou 1251. Il est assassiné par des membres de sa famille en 1263.

(5)Alexandre Iaroslavitch Nevski est né en 1220 et mort en 1263. Il devient prince de Novgorod en 1236 et Grand Prince de Kiev en 1249. Il remporte une écrasante victoire contre les Suédois sur la Neva en juillet 1240 et écrase l'armée de l'Ordre Teutonique au Lac Peïpous en 1242.

(6)Tartu (Dorpat en allemand) est actuellement la deuxième ville d'Estonie. Au début du 13e siècle, elle a été le siège d'un évêché qui a duré jusqu'à la fin du 16e siècle. Son premier évêque était Hermann von Buxhöwden, le frère d'Albert de Riga qui a été à l'origine de la création de l'Ordre des Chevaliers Porte-Glaive de Livonie.

(7)Albert II de Saxe, né vers 1250, Duc de Saxe en 1260, mort en 1298.

(8)Albert II "le Dégénéré", aussi appelé Albert "le Dénaturé". Il est né en 1240 et décédé en 1314. Il est landgrave de Thuringe de 1265 à 1307, date de son abdication.

(9)Otto (Othon) III "le Pieux". Il est né vers 1215 et mort en 1267. Il est le deuxième fils d'Albert II de Brandebourg et de Mathilde Wettin. Il est Margrave de Brandebourg de 1220 à 1267.

(10)Thierry(Dytryk ou encore Dietrich) "le sage", Margrave de Landsberg. Il est né vers 1242 et mort en 1285 de retour d'une expédition en Pologne.

(11)Cette région, actuellement située au nord-est de la Pologne actuelle était occupée par plusieurs tribus prusses (également appelées Borusses en français) et des tribus baltes, dont les Poméraniens, les Pomésaniens, les Warmiens, les Semigaliens,... Suivez-ce lien sur Wikipédia pour avoir un aperçu de ces tribus.


pour une bibliographie plus complète... Bibliographie
  1. "Poczet Wielkich Mistrzòw Krzyzackich"
    Pawel Pizunski; Wydawnictwo "Arenga"
Webmaster : Christophe Staf
© Templiers.org 2003-2017